SVG-1 Portable Solar Power

in #portable7 years ago

SVG-1
DSCN0059.JPG
Re-Cycle, Re-Use, Re-Purpose are the operative words here when using parts found on the side of the road. We would not want good stuff to go to waste.

The town I live in has a flag pole right in the middle of town. The American Flag is flown there on that pole 24 hours a day and had 3 spotlights to light the flag at night.
DSCN0063.JPG
The town will lower the flag to half staff for just about anything. One day, with the flag at half staff, a powerful wind storm came up. The wind blew very hard and stretched the rope keeping the flag up. When the wind changed direction the flag went the other way. The rope caught on a spotlight and ripped it off sending it to the ground smashing it to pieces.

The thing started out life as a compact unit and when I picked it up it was a long string 4 feet long. I took it home and cleaned the parts and set them aside for another day. A week later it happened again and I got that spotlight too.

So now I had 6 NiCad batteries, 2 solar panels and 2 Comparitor boards.
Free Batteries 2000 mAh, 1.2 v, Ni-MH
Ni-MH.JPG

Comparitor Board
Comparitor Board.JPG

After all salvaged parts received new wires I built a box from plywood scraps I had left over from several other projects. I drilled 1 hole in the box for each solar panel. I drilled 2 holes for the plug from the now defunct Radio Shack. The plug takes power directly off the solar panels.

I Can Run A 6 Volt Radio Off 2-5 Volt Panels In The Shade !

2 Panels And A Plug
SVG-1b.JPG
Each panel produces 5 Volts, if I wired an Either/Or switch I could get 5 Volts or 10 Volts from the outlet.

The Comparitor Board was installed next with 4 Large LED's and 2 slide switches, 1 to turn the Panels on to the Comparitor and another to turn on the battery so it could charge. I also wired in the 4 Large LED array.

I had a handle off a pot that developed a leak 2 months after I purchased it, I installed the handle to carry the unit because it was rather awkward without it.

I wired in another outlet that takes power off the battery so I can plug things in that need a 6 Volt source...Like the Radio or even a Blood Pressure Cuff.

SVG-1
DSCN0059.JPG

When the slide switches are ON (1) and the sun goes down the LED's turn on.

When the slide switches are OFF (0) nothing is powered except the outlet between the solar panels.

The toggle switch is set to 5 Volts charging the 4 AA batteries.

SVG-1
DSCN0060.JPG
The white cups are glued on there just to protect the wires coming off the back of the solar panels. Notice only 3 rubber feet, the black battery pack is the 4th foot. I kind of lucked out with this feature as the battery pack could only fit that far into the box.

Made from left over stuff from the junk box and found parts.

Sort:  

You were in the right place at the right time on that deal. Interesting project. Repurposing is fun.

I always keep my eyes open for good junk.

Hey Reid's cock sucker, just called to repay the compliment!
Now Fuck Off and carry on you circle jerk!

Free is always good


This post was randomly resteemed by @funaddaa!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 3700+ followers. Take our service to reach more People.

just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44