You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: PopularScience: Topology - What is It? Balls, Bagels and Loops...

in #popularscience8 years ago (edited)

I love topology! Was one of my favorite college math classes. I love having my students cut the Möbius strip in half to reveal it stays one strip, as you foreshadowed above. And it absolutely BLOWS their mind when they cut it in half again!

Sort:  

Oh, yeah! It is not clear the first time) Anyway you need to understand that there is dependence on the number of spins. By the way, look at this task! What do you think?)

I like it! Don't want to give away the answer, but it's a fun exercise in supplementary angles and isosceles triangles. I am big on using movement or goofy phrases to help people remember seemingly useless facts. Two years ago, when Uptown Funk by Mark Ronson and Bruno Mars was popular, I had students remember "Up/Down supp you up" for consecutive angles in traps. To this day, I still have them come up to me and tell me they remember. I would like to think if I pointed them to this task they would all get it right ;)

You're really pretty good teacher!) If I may ask, which school (university) do you work?

I'm based out of the Midwest in the United States. Math dept. chair at my our high school and adjunct university professor of Calculus through Indiana University. Loving your posts on math! It is cool seeing so many other people here dig its beauty as well.

@team-leibniz, unfortunately, comments do not support a depth of more than 5. So I write here. I've been looking for people like you. I have an interesting idea that you might like. I wrote to you in steemit.chat. Please check incoming messages.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64233.18
ETH 3491.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54