Overcoming Depression, Learning to Smile Again

in #popcontest7 years ago

IMG_20170921_160721.jpg Depression is a mood disorder characterised by feelings of sadness or anxiety which often has physical symptoms like weight loss, worsened ability to think, concentrate or make decisions, being unable to sleep, worse of all, recurrent thoughts of attempting suicide. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), depression is th most common illness worldwide, with an estimate of 350 million people affected by it worldwide, stating it as the leading cause of disability.
Depression has so many causes, most common ones include; divorce, work issues, probably a sack, relationship issues, financial problems, and atimes medical issues too. Most people tend to harm themselves when depressed, some take drugs or alcohol to a harmful level , which eventually harms their health, some even think of death as a way of ending it all.
Now let me speak from a personal experience, when I lost my sister. The shock I got when I heard the news, I never thought I was going to get through it. For days I refused to talk, even when I wanted to, the words weren't just coming out. I had lost someone very dear to me, as a child of 15yrs, it was just unbearable. But I overcomes it because I saw reason to move on, for my family, I moved on because of the love they showed to me, I just had to repay them by moving on.
So that's the 'key'; living on for someone or something. When you are depressed you tend to want to be alone, but no! You shouldn't, intact you should be in the most crowdy and noisest environment, get carried away from your thoughts, spend time with your loved ones, see reason to move on because of them. Express how you feel to your loved ones so they know your pain, that way your pain is shared. Keeping your pains to yourself could lead to trauma, a more complicated mental disorder.
Psychotherapies also help too. Having individual sessions , face to face with a therapist is the best. As they are professionals, they can read through your feelings. We all know that calmness we feel when we know someone understands the pain we are going through.
Comedies help a lot also. They give your mind some minutes of relaxation which is helpful in tackling depression. On a medical view, you should also take some antidepressant medications with prescription from a doctor.
Do all these and see yourself moving ahead of your past, slowly forgetting whatever that depresses you. This way you can live a happy life, no matter the circumstances you face. Keep smiling 😊. IMG_20170921_160656.jpg

This is the Power of Positivity Contest by , to participate visit the blog.
If you appreciate the content of this writing, your support will be well appreciated with your upvotes and resteem. And if you feel there is any way I can improve in my writing, you can state it in the comment box. Tanks

Sort:  

Thanks for entering in my #popcontest ! I have lost 5 very close family members ! And moving ahead and going on in life remembering the only the good times is what we must do , for me I worked very long hours and kept very busy in the first stages , that helped me a lot ! Dying is a fact of life . And life is to short to dwell on the past . Stay positive and read some of the awesome positive posts from previous weeks , it always makes me feel better ! Best of luck to you ! Good luck !Upped and resteemed !💕✌👍💕💕💕

Your welcome 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60893.72
ETH 2624.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56