Keep pushing.. You can do it

in #popcontest7 years ago

This story is one of patience, perseverance and motivation especially for the younger ones here....

It's a true story... My story...

images (15).jpeg
Image source

I was lucky enough to finish secondary school and get my WAEC results at one sitting. Nigerians here will understand me better.
One sitting means I passed all subjects at a go..

At normal circumstances, immediately after secondary school, the next step is to write JAMB and start tertiary education...

I felt it was going to be easy. After all.. I'm smart and my family has connections so I can get into any school of choice... Hehee
Little did I know I was still in dream land..
I wrote the JAMB that year and as expected.. I passed with flying colours...
The next step was to write the POST-JAMB at the two universities schools I had chosen. And I did.. Again I passed...
The final step was the wait for the admission list...

This was where it all started...

I waited for the first list, second list, third list and even the supplementary list but my name was no where to be found...

I dusted the pain off...
But that meant waiting one extra year at home doing nothing...
So waited I did...
The next year with so much enthusiasm... I repeated the same process again from writing the JAMB exams to waiting for the admission list...
Same error...
My name, no where to be found...
Now at this point, I was getting agitated because my friends had already gained admission into school.
I felt like my life was on a stand still...
I felt like I wasn't smart enough....

But I kept encouraging myself, telling myself that I could do it..

Even though people around me were beginning to think I wasn't smart enough either...

I kept telling myself otherwise... Thinking positively...
Well.. This process of writing JAMB continued for six solid years. At this point my friends were already done with school and serving [NYSC]...

At the sixth year, my breakthrough came....
I finally gained admission into the university...

And now?
I'm a graduate. The pain and embarrassments I faced for those six years are gone...
I look back at everything now as history...

Through it all and through the waiting period... I grew and matured into the woman I am now.
And somehow I'm grateful for the wait I experienced because it made me stronger in terms of taking life changing decisions while in school.
It made me wiser, smarter than the younger ones in school...

But most importantly, I want to encourage anyone who's probably in the same boat right now and is feeling like giving up...
Please don't. Right now it might seem like it would never happen, but trust me... It will
And when it comes... You'll be celebrated big time...

For now, just keep hanging on and believing the best of yourself...

Delay us definitely not denial...

Sort:  

Been delayed doesn't mean total rejection and as long as there is life there is hope.

Who know what might have happened if you gain admission earlier. There is season for everything

You're very right @valchiz.
There is indeed a season for everything....

Thanks for visiting my blog too...

Your post really motivated me. Kind of in the same situation most of my mates have gone for their NYSC service ND am yet to go for mine. I must say it quite frustrating. But now I know it's a phase I know it would pass
Lovely post Resteemed an followed you I hope you follow back

Wow @promize123....

I'm glad I was able to motivate you...
But always bear this in mind...

The Lord make all things beautiful in His time...
It will all end in praise...

I've followed you back..
Keep steeming bro...

Of course it can't but end in praise
Thanks for your follow back it means a lot.
Cheers

This is motivating. Thanks for the post

Exactly cupcake, delay is not denial, thanks for pushing on and for never giving up

Yesooooo...
Delay is definitely not denial...

So glad you never gave up ! thanks for sharing your awesome story in my #popcontest ! upped and resteemed , good luck !✌💕😀

Thank you very much @karenmckersie...

I appreciate the sweet gesture..

But that meant waiting one extra year at home doing nothing...

Surely you dind't do nothing :D What did you actually do inbetween the attempts? Did you study more or work?~

Study more?
I couldn't have studied more without getting admission....
And I couldn't have worked to get a meaningful pay without having a degree...

So that period was like a pause in my life....

Although I did little odd jobs just within the family to get extra pay and keep myself busy....

Oh I see :D
I think the main thing is that you are actually grateful for those years, and more importantly that you are not regretting now that time you spent waiting and trying over and over again. Someone else, who might not have your positive attitude and outlook on life, they might think of those years as "wasted", ultimately digging themselves into a deeper hole~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75