"I've been there before"

in #popcontest7 years ago (edited)

I was at the gas station filling up my tank. While pumping gas I usually stand there like a fool making faces and playing peek-a-boo with my kids in the back seat. It makes them laugh, which is my goal in life so who really cares if I look silly to any passerbys.
bitmoji1495512611.png
But something about the car on the other side of the pump caught my attention. I'm notorious for eavesdropping - I prefer to think of it as being observant.
It was an older car, possibly a Lincoln Town Car. Definitely the gas-guzzling type. There was a couple in their late-40s or early 50s. The man was bent over in the back seat, digging for fallen coins I assume. The woman was rummaging through her purse.
I hear the click of the gas pump nozzle, my tank is full. As I remove the nozzle I hesitate... should I? Would it be considered inappropriate? Am I being presumptuous?? I collect my nerves and walk around the pump with my nozzle in hand. I flash a bashful smile and offer to fill their tank. The woman's eyes light up with gratitude, the man is abashed. I try to assure him with a quick "I've been there before" while the gas pump ticks. I fill their tank and then we go on our separate ways.
I don't know their story. I don't know where they have been or where they were going. But I helped them out and it feels really good.

In a world where you can be anything, be kind! (Was that Ellen that said that?)
<3 justjessica

Sort:  

Amazing!!!

Karma will smile in your favour.

Good deeds or words are WAY MORE fun precisely when you don't know the fruits they yield !! Well done *-)

Precisely! 😊

Awe ! such a positive and kind thing to do @justjessica ! whether they needed it or not , you and they , feel good for doing so and everyones happy ! thanks for sharing your story in my #popcontest , upped and resteemed ! good luck !💕👍👍👍

Love your bitmoji !!!

Thanks!! And thanks for your efforts to spread positivity!

I that what they are. Was curious about your images. :)

Yea, bitmoji is pretty fun. You can make it look very similar to you or nothing at all

Such a generous thing to do for a stranger! Thanks for spreading the love!

I hope they got where they needed to go. Maybe they'll pay it forward

That was so awesome of you! That is what the world needs more of. You can never have enough kindness.

Thanks. And kindness makes you feel good... So why not :) but I was so nervous too

That was incredibly kind. And I love that you didn’t even attempt to find out their situation. The “no questions asked” approach is perfect. :)

I'm kinda awkward in social situations, or at least I feel that way in my head. I already felt like I was intruding 😳 I could not even consider asking. I am really glad I could help them

Awe! You are so sweet! You totally made their day, no matter what their situation is :)

Thank you 😊

I want to see your gift on the upvote of this post.

You are awesome!! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65180.67
ETH 2632.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84