The Supreme Gift

in #popcontest7 years ago

This poem is a true story and was written by my father, right after I donated a kidney to my sister in 1995. I hope that it somehow inspires people to want to continue to live and to help out their fellow man, especially their family. I know that I am thankful every day that I was able to do this for my sister. It saved her life. She would not be with us now if I had not done this. Life is precious and you don't always think about it sometimes until it really matters or it's too late. We should think about it all the time.

--

Ponder this for a while
If you think giving is out of style
It is if you give to benefit yourself
And not for the good of someone else
If you give from the heart with compassion
Others will know it’s still in fashion
You don’t have to be wealthy to give
Only a giving heart, a passion to live
My admiration is all for my son
He had only two but gave up one
A kidney he gave, the supreme form of giving
A gift to his sister to go on living
They are both doing fine
Thank God and my son
He had only two
And gave up one

--

Brother & Sister.jpg

Sort:  

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Congratulations @johnwjr7! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @johnwjr7 to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

That is such a selfless act of kindness beyond compare @johnwjr7 ! These things always move me , a good friend of ours ( my boyfriends boss ) was lucky enough that his wife was a match and also able to donate a kidney to her husband just this summer to save his life ! Still going for treatments , its not an easy thing to do , and something to be commended for ! You are awesome my friend !!
And Wow I loved that awesome poem written by your father , and the little note there on your sketchpad !! Well done , giving from the heart truly is the greatest gift of all ! Upped and resteemed Good Luck !😊💕👍😊💕

You know, for me, it was not an issue. I was going to do it no matter what. If you go on my blog you can read the whole story or the before and after. I'm doing it in 3 parts and the first 2 are posted already. I'll be putting the last part on later today. I hesitate to put the links here, but they are recognizable on my blog.

Oh my, how wonderful

This made me teary eyes

Well done, good on you!

Love the poem, your father must have been so proud of you.

Thank you for saving your sister!

And oh, thank you @karenmckersie for resteeming it, I could read such a beautiful posting.

I am putting the entire story on my blog. I've got parts 1 & 2 there already and the final part will be later today. Please give it a read and upvote (if you think it's worth it). When/If you read the story, you will see that I had no doubts about doing this, but others did. Yes, my father and mother were/are proud. They were scared for a while too. Thought they might lose 2 of us to try to save one.

Awesome story with a very happy ending. Following and upvoted.

Actually the whole story is on my blog. I have it in 3 parts. It's the "You've Got to be Kidneying Me" posts. They go into much more detail of how it all transpired.

I will go back and read parts one and two. Thanks for sharing such an awesome story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67388.31
ETH 3311.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74