Power of Positivity: The Transformation

in #popcontest6 years ago

Positivity is a character that anyone who wants to succeed must possess. It is a non-negotiable ingredient for success. I am not just writing this because I may have read it somewhere, I am writing this because I know, have applied it, and it has worked for me.
One of the areas where I have experienced remarkable positive changes in my life as a result of the power of positivity is in my academics. This is my story


Few years ago, I was given admission into the university to study Physics. I had previously heard of how impossible and difficult physics was, and how many students in the department failed and never graduated in time. The truth is that the evidence was there for all to see. As a result of this information, I decided to refuse the admission and search for an easier course to study. However, my decision was met with a stern resistance from my father; he told me to continue or else he wasn’t going to pay my fees. He told me never to listen to those types of stories, that as long as I believed in myself, I can do better. This made me to reluctantly accept the admission.

The new freshman

During my first year in school, I was always discouraged by what I had been told, I was always studying in fear and this affected me negatively without me knowing. I had obsessed myself with the notion that Physics was a difficult course to study, that it subtly consumed me from within. And as expected, despite my struggle and hard work, because of the limitations of my mind, I didn’t perform well that semester. My result was just average.

The Transformation

Later on, I began to read motivational books like No Excuses by Brian Tracy, Success through a Positive Mental Attitude by Napoleon Hill & Clement Stone, The enemy called average, etc. and I was regularly meditating on them. One day, in the afternoon while I was quietly thinking and meditating on what I had read, something within me erupted; I became highly unsatisfied with myself and I jumped up from the bed shouting “I am not an average student! I am not a mediocre!” Tears rolled down my eyes as I recalled a quote from the book ‘Success through a Positive Mental Attitude’

“What the mind of man can conceive and believe-the mind of man can achieve with Positive Mental Attitude”

From that day, I made up my mind to have a Positive Mental Attitude; I decided to always exude the power of positivity. That was the day of my rebirth. I became transformed.
I read now with confidence, and always expected excellence and not mediocrity. On the wall of my room, I pasted two different writings that inspired me. I got the both of them from the book ‘Think and grow rich’ by Napoleon Hill. The first is this:

If you think you are beaten, you are,
If you think you dare not, you don’t
If you like to win, but you think you can’t,
It is almost certain you won’t.

If you think you’ll lose, you’re lost
For out of the world we find,
Success begins with a person’s will-
It’s all in the state of mind.

If you think you’re outclassed, you are,
You’ve got to think high to rise,
You’ve got to be sure of yourself before
You can ever win a prize.

Life’s battle don’t always go
To the stronger or faster man
But soon or late the one who wins
Is the one WHO THINKS HE CAN!

The second is a poem:

I bargained with Life for a penny
And life will pay no more,
However I begged at evening
When I counted my scanty store.

For Life is a just employer,
He gives you what you ask,
But once you have set the wages,
Why, you must bear the task.

I worked for a menial’s hire,
Only to learn dismayed,
That any wage I had asked of Life,
Life would have willingly paid.

I was always reading them every morning, as they acted as the fuel that ignited my power of positivity for the day until the attitude became part of me.

The Outcome

As a result of my regular positivity, my lifestyle changed, and my grades improved. I finally graduated with a cumulative grade point in the 90th percentile despite an F in my first year. Check out the improvement of my grades as I exhibited positivity.
IMG_20180309_143424.jpg
IMG_20180309_143507.jpg
IMG_20180309_143535.jpg


Now it’s your turn

I believe that with the power of positivity, anyone can achieve any feat he/she so desires as long as you can put your mind to it and do everything that should be done. I advise you develop a positive attitude by doing the following:
Guard your mind diligently from negative thoughts.
Always fix your mind on the positive end result of any particular task.
See the good in all things.
Always read and listen to what inspires you positively, etc.
That way, you will always win

Sort:  

a picture can attract people to your wall

Thanks for the advice. Do You mean personal picture?

Hello @ikechi,

You have received up-vote from @steempeninsula account courtesy of @bob-elr and team.
Keep writing good post.
Use more pictures in your posts

Support our project to help us grow our account and help more people.

For enquiry, connect to us via Discord

Thank you

It truely is amazing what you can achieve by having a posititve mind and attitude @ikechi ! you are proof of that and I thank you for sharing your positive story in my #popcontest ! Upped and resteemed , good luck !✌👍✌👍

Thank you for the nudge to write this. I hope it inspires others to positivity. Cheees

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63632.98
ETH 2727.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58