Arise From Your Sadness And Embrace The Positive Side of Life

in #popcontest6 years ago (edited)

It been a while since i wrote on positivity and the factors that one can consciously adopt to achieve a positive life style. Today I am going to be talking on an aspect of life that concerns our emotions. Humans have basically 6 ways of expressing emotions this include fear, happiness, disgust, surprise, anger and sadness.
Sadness.jpg
source
Today I am going to be dwelling on sadness management as a key to achieving positive things in life. I will like to start by quoting Walter Anderson

Bad things do happen; how I respond to them defines my character and the quality of my life. I can choose to sit in perpetual sadness, immobilized by the gravity of my loss, or I can choose to rise from the pain and treasure the most precious gift I have - life itself

Sadness is inevitable because bad things happen all the time but the difference between winners and losers is the ability to deal with it. Keeping sadness out of your life does not necessarily mean building a wall of defense against it because if you do that you will also unconsciously keep joy away from your life, and for you to achieve success and positivity joy and happiness is a strong factor that must be called to play. We must note that sadness is different from depression whereas sadness is a temporary feeling that can be caused by an occurrence depression on the other hand can be caused by prolonged sadness or even genetic disorder. How then can we deal with sadness?


Acknowledge that you are sad

One would say why do I have to acknowledge that I am sad after all the purpose of this whole write up is to combat sadness. The truth my friend is that the more you continue to live in denial the sadder you become.

First, accept sadness. Realize that without losing, winning isn't so great. Alyssa Milano

When you accept that you are sad then you can build strategies to overcome them, this even makes happiness sweeter because happiness is meaningless without having an experience of what sadness is.


Challenge Yourself

Now this is the second aspect of overcoming sadness. I remember sometimes in 2013 when I lost my elder brother and my job concurrently it was like I had lost everything and there was no way forward for me one of the things that kept me joyful and gave me the ability to rise above the sadness that was overwhelming me was my Guitar. Each day I would listen to a complicated song and challenge myself to try and replicate the notes played in the song. Achieving this for me feels refreshing and brings with it a form of happiness and accomplishment. You could challenge yourself with different task that would make you feel great once achieved, it could be cooking, going for a run etc.
sad-runner-featured.jpg
Source


Quit What Is Hurting You

Now this is a very important part of combating sadness and living a positive and joyful life. The moment you recognize that you are sad it is very pertinent that you find the cause of the sadness. I used to work for a company that pays me 60000 Naira per month that’s about 170 dollars per month, this was not enough to pay my bills and going to work every day felt stressful. So, every day when I wake up from sleep and remember that I must go to work I feel sad. When I realized this, I started working toward establishing my own business and I starved myself to get a car that I can use for Cab business. Just the feeling I had from achieving the cab business was enough to quell the sadness in me. When the business grew to a certain level of sustainability I quit the job. So, you must discover the cause it could be relationships or even your workplace. Any thing that becomes unbearable for you quit!!!!!! Look for alternatives!


Finally, we must understand that the key to achieving positivity and success is a joyful heart and note that “it is not because things are bad that you are sad, but things are bad because you are sad”. So, go on today with a joyful and happy demeanor because it is a vital key to achieving your destiny and attaining success in life.

Sort:  

Thank you for a wonderful post! Focusing on alleviating poverty results in more poverty. Focusing on how to overcome sadness makes you sadder! You've got a new follower!

Thanks for stopping by bro i had to write this when i discovered that your mood somehow affects your productivity and success

Great #popcontest entry @ijele ! I love your take on this , to accept the sadness and learn strategies to overcome them ! upped and resteemed , Good Luck ! just seen im on my other account , i will come back @karenmckersie to up and resteem !! 👍👍👍😀

Thanks @momskitchen. A lot of us live in denial that is why we cant find solutions to sadness once you are able to accept it you can overcome it. Thanks for visiting my blog dear.

your welcome just upped and resteemed in my @ karenmckersie ! good night !👍👍👍

This post worth resteeming .

Thanks bro

We most always say no to sadness, joy is something within. Am really incouraged by your post, this joy can't be faking, Nor sort of pretend joy is something that plasters a smile on your face while inside you is delightful . Joy can not be imposed on others, is right inside us.

You got the point thanks for visiting

Great article.. pls do follow me and upvote my article. I am new here. Thanks and God bkess.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65231.30
ETH 2943.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66