Bringing Up A Pitbull In A Positive Way

in #popcontest7 years ago (edited)

I was not looking for a dog, and no one in the family mentioned of having a dog. However, there he is and I FELL IN LOVE! The crazy thing is I fell in love with a photo of his face.

Moreover, I found him on Craiglist of all the places! I didn't look for him, I didn't look for a puppy, but I was on Craiglist looking for something else.

His picture just popped up! He was the first thing I saw.
Puppy.jpg

To get him out of my mind, I went on with my daily chores and keeping myself as busy as I could. By the evening, I made a fateful call to the owner to inquire more information and negotiated a price.

Learning that he is a Pitbull mixed Boxer, I slept on it, and knew for sure that I needed to learn about the two breeds in depth.

The next morning, the owner called me back twice, and I expressed my concerns with Pitbull's reputations. I told her I had nothing to welcome a dog home, not feeding bowls, leash, collar, crate, or chew toys or food. She was willing to go down half price so that I could buy what needed for him. She also emphasized that in her neighborhood, Pitbull were often bought and raised for fighting.

Long story short, my son and I went to purchase all the necessarily items, and we drove in a storm to pick him up. The owner placed the puppy in my son's arms, and it was love at first sight for him too.
bring up a pitt bull.JPG

POSITIVE GOALS WERE SET TO BRING HIM UP WITHOUT AGGRESSION:

--We hand fed him to show him love and established trust.
--We cuddled him like a baby to create bonding.
--We treated him with kindness, and gentleness
--We put him on a schedule for feeding, and going outside
--We had a discipline and reward system in place
--We took him everywhere we go to introduce him to new things

bringing up pitt bull 1.JPG
All in all, he fitted like a glove to our family and life style. Most importantly, we never use any means of hitting, yelling, or punishing him if he made a mistake or being him.

bringing up pitt bull 2.JPG
We named him Capone, and he has a sweet temperament. He is easy going, loves human, fast learner, and can even do some tricks.

Now that we have Capone for three years, I can put all the bad reputation about Pitbull breed to sleep. I firmly believe that it is not the breed, it falls more on the owner's responsibilities on how they bring up the puppy in positive manners.

Text and Photos @IcyBC All Rights Reserved!

Sort:  

OMG ! How could anyone ever say no to that cute little face !!! Such a heart warming All original and positive story ! Love it and your awesome dog Capone ! Great name !! In had a dog like this many years ago that would lick candy off my young sons face , so gentle and friendly when raised properly . My son is now 30 LOL! Its Never the Dog , Its always the owner ! Unless of course the dod has gone crazy or is sick in some way ! Thanks for sharing your Positive vibes post in my #popcontest tag ! Good luck !!upped and resteemed👍🐶👍🐶👍🐶

Thank you, @karenmckersie. I agree, raising them up right, they are very sweet, friendly and loving. He has never showed any aggression to any one.

Wonderful. You're my kind of dog owner :)

Thank you @healingherb..I can't stand seeing anyone treating any dog with hostility or mean.

This article will provide advice on how to raise a pitbull right and prove the stereotype wrong. Over the years, the American Pitbull Terrier has gained a bad reputation as a naturally aggressive breed of dog. This mostly comes from the fact that before the dogs were ever brought to America they were bred to fight bulls and once bull baiting became illegal, they were sent to fight one another. The thing is, these dogs only fought to please their masters, really. They are no more aggressive than any other breed of dog when they receive the proper training.

Thank you very much @pshowbiz. Over the years I have read and heard so many horrible story about Pitbull. To be hones, before I brought Capone home, I was afraid of this breed, but now he has changed all of those feelings.

Oh, there you are! One of my fave dogs on social media! Xoxo

LOL..he has been around, isn't he? Thank you dear @bloghound

I love this dog a lot :D You're welcome, Icy!

Thank you! Time for you to do your furry tail now :-)

I LOVE this! It hits home for me because we are currently on an adoption list, waiting for our very first family dog! We are all so excited. Your training tips are going to be very useful, thanks!

Thank you very much..I was and am a first time dog owner. I just go with motherly-instinct to raise Capone and I know for sure I don't want an aggressive dog on hands, especially when he has pitbull blood in him..

Excato. My mom in law has 2 pitbulls at home and they are the most respectful and lovely dogs I ever met but because she has taught them how to be that way. It is all our responsability how you said and I hope people is getting this message to stop all that crazy thing about making dogs fight for money.

They do look a bit intimidating, but they are so loving, so loyal, and give unconditional love too :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59889.02
ETH 2673.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46