Sometimes, Bad Things Happen . . .

in #popcontest7 years ago


(img from pixabay)

Angrily, Dennis got down from the car and began looking around as if to decipher the reason why the car had stopped working all of a sudden. Too bad he knew nothing about fixing cars. Growing up as an "ajebo" child, he knew nothing about technical works like fixing cars. Opening the boot of his Range Rover, he brought out the tool box.

"This is pathetic", he thought to himself.

He could hardly differentiate the spanner from the wrench so how the hell was he going to fix the stupid car. He usually drove around in his Range Rover but chose to use the Ferrari today, a decision he was now regretting. At the moment, this should be the last thing happening to him. He was already running late for a crucial meeting which could secure multibillion naira contract for his firm and this was happening.

First, he had woken up late, then found out his wife had washed the shirt he wanted to wear this morning. As he had tried to iron another one, he burnt it in the process. Before he was done dressing, he had just 20 minutes till the meeting time. He'd hoped his fast car would get him there in time. Being happy that there was no traffic, he had started counting his eggs before they harshed. Then his bubbles got burst when the car started acting funny before finally refusing to move at all.

He knew hardly any automobile technician or mechanic would be able to fix his car. He stuck his hand into his pocket and brought out his iPhone. After dialling his wife's number severally, he sighed. Great! After burning his shirt, the best she could do was not to pick his phone when he needed her help. This was all her fault.

"Hello dear", he heard Sharon's voice sing song from the other side of the phone

"Drive the Range to meet me at Cresent avenue. In front of Adonai Stores.", he commanded brusquely

"What's wrong?"

"I dont have time for chit-chat, woman. The Ferrari broke down and I have a meeting to go to. This is all your fault though. If you hadn't washed my shirt, I wouldn't be in this mess"

"I'm sorry about the shirt, Dennis. How many times will I say that?"

"Just bring the Range," he grunted and dropped the call.

10 Minutes Later

Dennis' Range Rover pulled down right behind the Ferrari and Sharon alighted. Immediately, Dennis collected the key of the Range Rover and dropped the Ferrari's key in her hand. Without uttering a word to his wife, he got into the Range Rover and was on the road again.

He knew he was already five minutes late and the Range would never make it in time. He wondered if the contract was lost. Anger filled his mind as he headed to the conference hall at Ajumose Hall and Suites where the meeting was supposed to take place. As he neared Ajumose Hall and Suites, he could hear sirens and saw a cloud of smoke up in the air.


That Night

"Hey", Dennis said to Sharon as she met him at the door.

Ignoring his greeting, she let him in then turned away to walk into the bedroom.

"I'm really sorry, baby", Dennis said, holding her back by the waist.

"I'm very very sorry", he continued, "I was under a lot of pressure and overreacted"

After wriggling herself out of his grip, she faced him, folded her arms and stared at him with an angry face.

"I thought it was all my fault. Because I washed your shirt, right?" she asked bitterly "How was I supposed to know you wanted to wear it when you left it lying on the couch?"

Without waiting for him to reply, she continued "I guess it was my fault your Ferrari developed a fault. By the way, how did you expect me to get home after driving off with the Range like that. Do you know what I went through today. Anyway, forget it"

"I'm sorry, Sharon" Dennis said apologetically pulling out a rose from his pocket and giving it to her.

"How about I make it up with a dinner?" Dennis said after Sharon refused to collect the rose.

"I already made dinner for us and your not gonna waste it", Sharon asserted firmly and walked away.

Dennis slumped to the sofa in tiredness. He knew his wife would forgive him. It might just take a little more time and begging than he had expected. But he had learned a big lesson today.


He had gotten down from the Range Rover in front of Ajumose Hall and Suites in awe. The meeting was burnt down. That explained the cloud of smoke and the sirens. After asking around, he discovered there had been an explosion minutes earlier. Just then, a call came in. It was the MD of the Company he was supposed to have a meeting with. He was calling to reschedule the meeting in light of the electrical mishap that caused the explosion that had destroyed the prior venue.

Dennis began to put two and two together. That meant the representatives of the other company hadn't been in the building at the time of the blast.


"Imagine what would have happened to me" Dennis said to Sharon after relating the story of what had happened that day as they ate.

"I'd be a widow by now" She replied "You normally go an hour earlier for meetings and if you had been able to do that today, you would have been in the building at the time of the explosion"

"Exactly, so waking up late was a good thing, you washing my shirt was a good thing and even the car breakdown was a good thing", Dennis smiled

"I'm sure you felt otherwise this morning", Sharon rolled her eyes

"I did. But now I'm thankful those bad things happened. It saved my life", Dennis said

"Yeah, yeah", Sharon said, sounding uninterested

"I'm sorry" Dennis said getting up and walking to stand behind Sharon's seat.

"I took it out on you and that was bad" he said massaging her shoulder gently.

"Honestly, I'm just happy you're alive. I'm hapoy all those bad things happened to you today" Sharon said, sobbing

"I guess bad things happen for good reasons", Dennis said, almost as a realisation to himself rather than a statement to Sharon.

"Yes Dennis, bad things sometimes happens for good reasons" Sharon smiled and held her husband's hands on her shoulder.


Sometimes, positivity is all we need in life... Some situations may seem really terrible but they're not as bad as you think they are. Don't get cranky and blame others for your bad days or the bad things that happen to you.

Remember, sometimes, bad things happen for good reasons.


I wrote this post for the Power of Positivity (P.O.P) contest.

With love,
@ajremy (the teen with steam for steem)

Sort:  

Such an awesome story @ajremy ! I loved it ! And your so right , I have seen it many times , Where bad things really can happen for a good reason ! Thanks so much for sharing your story with us in my #popcontest ! Good Luck , upped an resteemed !👍💕😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67388.31
ETH 3311.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74