Poor Man's Food Challenge - It's Really Cheesy!

20181212_163409.jpg
We call this Poor Man's Queso and it is one of our favorites!


Scott and I have a favorite guilty pleasure food that is definitely not the healthiest food, but on those cold winter evenings when we are longing for junk food, we make what my kids and I have called Poor Man's Queso. The reason we call it this is because when my children were little a loaf of Velveeta was rather cheap and a full loaf would feed all of us and whoever was at our house. Turns out, Scott's family did the same.

20181218_191430.jpg
Me and my kids in 1993 or 1994 goofing around and having fun.


While I was making this, I began to wonder if this recipe could be made for those who are vegans. Then I started to wonder if there were Velveeta type cheese loaves in other countries. If not, how would they recreate this dish? Suddenly, I thought:

This community LOVES food. They love challenges even more! I think I this would be an awesome challenge to bring to the Steemiverse! Oh, yes! I do believe a challenge is afoot!


poorman.png


I am going to show you the ingredients and the steps we take to prepare it. Then I want to see how you would make this if you were vegan or from a place that did not have a different the same ingredients. Be creative, have fun and show us with photos or video! The choice is yours.

Untitled.png
source


I am wondering who is willing to take this challenge! Are you willing? If so, here are a few things you need to do:



Make sure your post has "Poor Man's Food Challenge"
You do not have to resteem this post, but why not share the fun with your friends!
Leave a comment below with your post link.
Make sure to have fun!




recipe.png
source


20181212_161245.jpg

One pound of hamburger or Sausage.


20181212_161254.jpg

Two pounds of Cheese Loaf.


20181212_161301.jpg

One 20 oz can of diced tomatoes and green chilies.


20181218_201917.jpg

One quarter cup cream or milk.


20181212_161319.jpg

Chips of your choice (we like corn).


20181212_162024.jpg

You can a deep skillet, crockpot, pressure pot, or even a microwave to cook.



cooking.png
source


20181212_161245.jpg

Brown your meat.

20181212_161638.jpg

Cut your cheese loaf in small cubes so it melts faster.

20181212_161733.jpg

When meat is browned, add the diced tomatoes & chilies.

20181212_161938.jpg

Add cheese and cream.

20181212_163224.jpg

Stir together and occassionally while cheese melts.

Keep your heat low or it will scorch your cheese.



a.png
source

20181212_163409.jpg

Place in a bowl and serve with chips!

The dishes used here are Forest Green Square Depression dishes that came in laundry soap!


20181212_163444.jpg

kisspngstadsrestaurantvalkenburgexploitatiemaatschappij5b0000a5ce8463.3920016415267268218459.png
source



Remember, GET OUT and live life outside your box!
gologosm.png



Thank you @penderis for this artwork!


Thank you @enginewitty for this artwork!

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

SteemTerminalBanner1.jpg

Sort:  

Hey, @xcountytravelers!

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steemit project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official website or whitepaper and you can support us by voting for our witness and joining our curation trail on Steemauto . We are also inviting you to join Crowdmind Discord server. Don't forget to use the #crowdmind hashtag and happy crowdsourcing!

You are so welcome. I love how you all are encouraging people and supporting them all.

Sure does look yummy!

It really is. Somtimes we put black beans in it too! Its also extremely easy.

I'd be able to do most of the ingredients, but have never seen a pack of easy melt cheese in my life!

Mind you, I'd have to use lactose free ingredients for my hubby to be able to indulge so will need to get a little inventive.

Oh gosh! I am so sorry. Dietary issues are one of the worse. I totally understand if you hop on.

Ooh I remember we had Velveeta growing up, I've completely forgotten what it tastes like. Is it like taking American cheese and melting it? Such a good name too, it just sounds tasty. Queso looks great!

We love it but try not to over do it. That much processing is a little scary.
Ren

Yep - i've made something like this before for Superbowl Sunday dip hehehehe
its really good - very rich.. but like you said - sooooooo much processing hahahaa

can't eat that too often ;) but you have me hungry now hahahahahah

Oh, wow! I've never heard it called that before! Soo cool.

It's not called that. Hehehe I meant I make it.FOR Superbowl Sunday lololol

Hi! Nice to read you

I'm here via @crypto.piotr.

That cheese looks good (Queesooo!!!)!

Where I come from, that is a Rich Man's Food

Nice to meat you!

It's not cheap like it was 20 years back. No where near it, but that was what we called it. We do it maybe one every three months. It's one of those things that a guilty pleasure.

Thanks so much for stopping by!
Ren

My pleasure

Happy Holidays!

That's a perfect snack on a lazy Sunday in front of TV.

Very much so. I think this would be the perfect time...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63175.14
ETH 3047.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63