[Financial Freedom] How did I miss an upgrade?

in #poor6 years ago

When I was about to leave new East in the summer of 2007, when the last class was over, a girl walked up to me and gave me a business card and said, "I have a friend, he want to see you, I don't know do you want."

I said freely: "Anyway, I am free. I should have time." So I get out of the business card and go.

In fact, I delayed at least three terms before leaving New Oriental. Every time I say this is the last class, the result is that the teacher is not enough after the next holiday. The director of foreign languages department says, "Xiaolai, please come back help teach them." I often promise. So, it was not until the summer vacation of 2008 that I felt completely left. As a result, during the Spring Festival in 2009, I went back to help to teach two classes again.

After a few days, I remembered this matter, pulled out the business card, and called the person on the business card. At his own request, I concealed him real name and replaced his name with "Zhuang Yi" - Zhuang Yi's title is a founding partner of a well-known venture capital. At that time I had no contact with the venture capital circle, so I just felt like I had heard of this well-known venture capital. However, what exactly was the venture capital was no concept at that time.

Everyone may not know that before the New Oriental teacher left New Oriental, he was basically a "Woodlouse"—because it was actually a rather closed environment with New Oriental reasons, but more was the reason for the New Oriental teacher’s own mentality: anyway, self-consciously Earn a lot of money and live up to your life, so you can easily enter the state of "indifferent to the outside world"...

It turned out that Zhuang Yi was invited to Stanford to study for an MBA, but he was feel embarrassed to go directly. Although the other party said that you only need to come. But he feel need the exam will be tested, otherwise it will be "not kind". Want to quickly get the TOEFL/GMAT, but his schedule is too chaotic, there is no way to go to class... So his assistant reported two classes, each teacher's class sounded at least one section, and then selected her Trusted himself, "handed a business card."

We know because this way. I don't think it was something. I used the shortest time to talk about the system of the two exams and quickly passed the most important points. Then we meet once or twice a week to talk about specific details. In the process, I slowly find, this man is a legendary figure in the domestic venture capital circle, and it is strange that there is very little information about him that can be found on the Internet.

However, I have always been accustomed to not inquire into other people's affairs, it has never been asked. In those two or three months, Zhuang Yi left a deep impression on me: A person who is flying around and who can only sleep for only three or five hours at a time can actually complete his homework at the airport and then free up time. Come to me again... I like all who hard enough things. He is obviously such a person.

When Zhuang Yi set out to meet in San Francisco before, he said, "Well, you have told me so much. I will also give you one class, teach the methods of starting a business?" - The effect is so great. The words are really obscure; because for me, it was after all the "seven years ago class" thing...

His tall man stood there and wrote the whole white board, erased it, wrote it again, wrote it again, came again... and talked for a full two and a half hours—basically, the time equivalent to I had spent a whole class in New Oriental.

At the time, many of the details that Zhuang Yi spoke about, I now have complete forget...

As soon as two years passed, when Zhuang Yi returned from Stanford, I did not have much specific changes. Before he left, I and my former New Oriental colleague Xiong Ying engaged in a study abroad consulting company. When he came back, we were still doing that study abroad consulting company, but in fact there was no growth. In fact, there was not much change, and anyway, it did make money. , but the kind of thing that is not "entrepreneurship" in my eyes today, is just "transaction"...

In the second half of 2013, I started to invest in angels and bump all the way. By the beginning of 2014, I went to Silicon Valley. On the plane, I suddenly remembered that one afternoon a few years ago, Zhuang Yi was standing in front of the whiteboard in a room of Suzhou Street Dahezhuang Yuan to tell me something.

The feeling of that moment is entirely a feeling of "awakening from a nightmare".

I tried several times, still unable to recollection what he told me at the time, only to remember that it was the same thing, and then, with a general impression, but the details were completely blurred - it was just like a dream when wake up, then not seeing the details.

I see:

At that time, everything Zhuang Yi said, I actually didn't listen into at all...

Although he was sitting there at the time, I only felt that he was a founding partner of a well-known venture capitalist. He must have spoken something more profound than I thought...

In terms of modern words, it is "unaware", but in fact it should be "determined but not clear".

Although we have to meet at least once a year to chat at least once a year (I have a very natural habit of contacting friends who may have broken connections if they don't contact), although I through he knew Mr. Zhu Min (even Mr. Zhu Min write for "time as a friend" prologue in this period)... All this communication did not pull me out of "no sense". I was still acting in accordance with my original ideas, and there was no feeling about entrepreneurship.

What is the hindrance to me?
I'm not really the first time this kind of experience. In the "new life - seven years is a lifetime 《新生——七年就是一辈子》", I wrote another experience, the title is "how I missed my whole life 《我当初是怎样错过一辈子的》".

In the communication with the entrepreneurs again and again, I finally see: the situation I had in the past was the same as the entrepreneurs I met. The reaction that they are in front of me is actually the reaction that I had in front of Zhuang Yi:

I think you're right, but it doesn't seem to have much to do with me... After all, I'm not you, you're not me, what you can do, I can't do it... I'm still trying to do what I can do...

After I reached this conclusion, there seemed to be a magical force at work, and I gradually began to recall clearly what Zhuang Yi was telling me at the time: Basically, I often tell people now. Those ideas: how to find great value in the process of changing the industry, how to lock the longest track, how to quickly grow... Even I began to be a bit unclear that these are what I struggle to learn, or was it that many years ago Zhuang Yi planted a seed and eventually sprouted?

...It does not matter. What is important is that I am lucky, not only lucky but also exceptionally well, so I went from one path to the next. With luck, if it is possible that I am still living many years ago now - if so, I would not have the current panic, fear and treasure for good luck.

If I am not lucky enough to go to the present situation, I will not be so shocked by this incident:
Just "thinking that some concepts are not relevant to yourself" can make one live forever in another "self-consistent world."

To think about it, this truth is very simple:
Some ideas, you feel related to yourself, it does not necessarily work; but in turn, if you think that have nothing to do with you, then it will not work...

On the other hand, I am not a person who is not indifferent to thinking. I am not a person who just wants but not do, but even so, I also still lose it. Moreover, there are at least twice "losing" - it's just because that luck is so good that even after a lose, it can be "recovered." We must know that the second chance in life is so rare that I could meet my second chance twice. Isn't that lucky?

Then, the fact that I'm feel fear is:
However, the time in six or seven years passed. It's really scary to think about it.

Of course, sharing this experience (including previous experiences), the most important thing is not to show how good my luck is, but to add a note to the previous explanation:

Some of the ideas are really important, but they are either too simple or even despised, or they are too counter-intuitive or even impossible to believe...

However, the most likely cause for people to miss the turning point and miss the upgrade opportunity may be this:
I feel that the idea is reasonable, but I don't think it has anything to do with myself...

I can respond now:

"Feeling doesn't matter" is an illusion, it must just an illusion, and often the most fearful self-proclaimed prophecy. If we take the initiative to absorb that concept, follow that concept and it will "actually have a relationship"; it doesn't matter we don't do it well. Nobody did a good job from the beginning, so it's time to do it desperately; It doesn't matter if you can't follow the conceptually at first, when you try again and again, you naturally begin to dig deeper. To do it, you must do it vigorously, and you must think deeply about it — otherwise, it will be totally unrelated to you.

This is why I would emphasize the reason why "My column recommends readers read do not ignore any one word" because this column is about escalation of ideas, not casually writing, casually reading, just entertainment and happy, you want happy I give you happy things. It is not only necessary to "do not ignore any one word" but also "repeatedly read" because the underlying concept is often dressed in "simple" disguise, and even most people feel indifferent and feel that they have understood...

Now, I explain to you with my own, rare personal experience. The most important thing is that many important ideas will be disguised as "Let you feel like with you have no relationship" and make you miss life without knowing it. Therefore, not only do you have to read, but you must read it again and again; not only do you read it repeatedly, but also assume that each concept has a huge relationship with you. All senses are mobilized to create a sense of "involvement," and to study and go Imagine if this idea is absorbed by oneself, what should oneself be like?


Thinking and Action

1.Again, review those experiences you listed some days ago, take a closer look, and then try to think back. What exactly caused you to think that "that truth has nothing to do with me?"

2.Although our column has the highest open rate, the highest rate of praise, and the highest response rate, no matter which indicator, it drops from 100% all the way to less than 50% in nearly three months - you think Where does the most important influence come from?

3.I know that some people are ashamed to speak in class, and even persuade themselves to say, "I'm not so show off." Then, out of thousands of messages a day, you don’t have your shadow... However, you can understand that your decision "makes you somehow away from the useful truth" and "involuntarily make you less necessary and closely related to the truth"? You can openly leave no comments, but I suggest you find a book to write your own message and reflection. After reading this article, you should know why I am so recommended.

4.I often receive e-mails from readers saying that many of them are similar: "I have read 'Take time as a friend' in many years ago, but I recently reviewed it and found out that many years ago I actually didn't read understand it..." You now know why I not only advocate "do not ignore any one word," but also advocate "a good book to read many times. "Lose read", but also "good books need read many time?"

5.There are many links between national policies (note, is the policies, not politics) and the accumulation of individual wealth, and it can often completely change the path of individual wealth accumulation. Many people think that "the people do not need to care about those"... Now I'm telling you: for yourself, you have to care about those policies, you have to seriously understand those policies, you have to think about each possibility and your own connection, and to yourself The impact, and then make their own necessary changes - then what should you do? What changes should you make today and yesterday?
(Don't mention it in this message, write it in your own book, and show it to yourself.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61904.94
ETH 2583.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57