Do polyglots dream of multilingual conversations?

in #polyglots6 years ago (edited)

I wanted to write some posts under the #polyglot tag for some time, but since I can't claim to be a polyglot (I am bilingual at best) it took a little bit of naive arrogance to come up with something that I have spoken to many polyglots about for a post.

As you can see from the title, I find the dreams of polyglots to be very fascinating. I don't recall my dreams with a high degree of clarity, but since I don't normally find myself in daily situations where I am required to use more than one language at a time, it has never been my impression that I dream in more than one language very often.

However, I wonder if this is the case for polyglots? Do they dream in more than one language, and if so how do the different languages weave themselves into the conversations of the dream? Do they find themselves simply thinking in more than one language? Do they speak in more than one language? Does the pattern of language usage reflect their normal daily routines or is it even more fantastical because it is in a dream?

What about people who also know sign language (and perhaps even more than one sign language?) and can combine different sign languages with spoken languages?

I think polyglots play an important role in helping to connect the different communities on Steemit together. Right now it is predominantly an English-based platform, but projects like utopian.io really help to bridge some of the gaps, and there are many authors writing in more than one language to help share the contents to a wider audience.

If you are a polyglot and love to post in more than one language, it would be great to see the #polyglot tag used more often so we can enjoy the rich diversity in content and language here on Steemit. I hope @wentong-syhhae and @donovanpage are reading this post and might provide us with some answers in the comments section.

P.S. If there's anyone out there that have been to a multilingual Toastmasters meeting please let me know. I'd love to find out more about it :)

Sort:  

I speak three languages and write in two. So it's often confusing in dreams. My husband starts talking Russian, or my mom suddenly speaks English... it's really weird. Or I remember reading a text in English but the words being Hebrew.

Also, am a polyamorous polyglot and I love the way that sounds!!!

I assume that these are not situations that occur in real life (i.e. husband starts talking Russian or mother suddenly speaks English)? Maybe you might read some text in English but think in Hebrew sometimes? I am curios about this and I think we need to talk to some psychologists and linguists about this and explore the idea further...

I think 'polyamorous polyglot' should be on your profile description :D

I think the main issue with language in dreams is the barrier between language and experience. Dreams are about experience, so spoken language has a very odd role in dreams. I would really like to hear others' experience here in the comments...

I think 'polyamorous polyglot' should be on your profile description :D

I agree!

This is an interesting post @plushzilla. I'm uni-lingual myself, so not really much for me to say about polyglots, which is a new term I've just discovered, cheers. :)

But I think you're right in your assesment that these are members of the community who can bring us all closer together and help bridge the barriers that exist between us and can divide us at times so I welcome more use of the #polyglot also. :)

P.S. If there's anyone out there that have been to a multilingual Toastmasters meeting please let me know. I'd love to find out more about it :)

lol. :)

Have a great day , my friend.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @plushzilla to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63956.43
ETH 3320.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92