POLL - PLEASE ANSWER THISsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poll8 years ago

I would like to have your comments on this...

Why did you join Steemit in the first place?

Sort:  

I'm speaking for myself here (FYI: this is a shared account).

Because I went ballistic on the BitShares forum (and on one mod in particular; I love you @ash! =) ) for a span due to a user being banned over what I considered to be a silly reason (despite his previous warnings) and I took a stand ... and I kind of regret it ... but I had fun doing it (sorry BitShares forum). ;)

Several of us on that forum were also into a the Qora - community and really liked where that project was headed with their decentralized micro-blogging project. It's very cool btw and I hope it continues to grow!

We had several discussions on the topic of decentralized social media platforms and I would bet that's where Dan saw an opening in the market and now we have Steemit.

Actually I didn't realize what STEEM was when it was released, but looking back I wish I had just listened to Dan's original post where he hinted we should take a look. It was the 4/1 date though and a lack of time that made me brush it off for several weeks.

I was one of those people that were left in the dark about the project being real or who was even involved in it until a friend informed me that it was actually Dan's project and it was a blockchain based social media platform.

So I took a look, and as the blockchain will reflect, I was not originally happy with what I saw, for many of the same reasons discussed here to this day. But I decided to just shut up and instead of complaining (for the most part) about what I didn't like, try out the things I did like about it.

One thing is for certain, Steemit is a lot more fun at the Dolphin and Orca levels. I can only imagine what it's like to be a whale. July 4th was a life changing event for a lot of people. Originally it was a $2 million bootstrap I believe (not sure what it ended up being, like $1.7 or something) and it's kind of unfortunate that more people did not participate before 7/4.

Imagine if we had a lot more users here that got in on the pre 7/4 phase and were able to earn their way to or near the dolphin level. It would be rocking here on Steemit!

Perhaps we need another one of those $2 million giveaways @dan / @ned for new users only. ;)

AWESOME reply! Thanks for the comment and I sure look forward to see what is coming around the corner in relation to the site. Steem on! Namaste :)

I was looking into micropayments for content, and had been following a couple of Bitcoin-based networks with similar ideas, but Steemit came out first. They are still all under production.

I think I saw it mentioned as a Reddit Alternative, sometime in May when I arrived.

@onceuponatime, One of the earliest steemit adopters, joined a community project that I started here in Chile. When he came to see our land and evaluate the project, he introduced me to steemit. I joined, met the few people that were here in the beginning, and loved the concept so much that I decided to stick around and invest for the long-haul. It has been a fantastic year and I'm very much looking forward to the next.

I heard it was a private, uncensored social media site.

have you heard of voat? why steemit rather than voat?

I heard about voat after I was here. I came for one thing and have stayed for another.

Thank you for posting @cryptoctopus this query/poll as to why Steemit.

For primarily the same reason as @whatsup. It is private....uncensored....and to add a few more reasons...why?......no government interference...and to be a guinea pig of sorts for others who were on other social sites.

No social media site has been of interest to bleujay. Therefore the idea of putting content forward to dialogue over was a real draw to remain which could not be possible if one has no privacy and is censored.

Steemit so far is a winner. It has gone beyond any expectations.

After years of being harasses by friends and many others to start my own blog about this and that topic, the ones I actually chose to write about in my steemit blog, I was convinced to do so once and for all when I was told I'd potentially get financial rewards for doing so.

After trying it out, I thought the platform was fantastically well thought of, even if it is only in its infancy, and kept on going with the postings. Thanks again for your continuous hard work and dedication to quality. All for one and one for all!!! Namaste :)

I joined because I saw Ned on CNBC talking about a social media blogging site that paid you for your content. I thought to myself.. that is exactly what I have been looking for!

Do you have a link to that vid? I'd like to see it.

I don't. I have CNBC playing all day long as I am a stock trader on the side and out of no where there was a segment about a new social media site that was going to pay it's contributors for their content. I was signed up less than 5 minutes later.

I was at Bubblews, then at Persona Paper. Let's say I am always on a lookout for writing sites. I've seen Steemit mentioned on Cointelegraph and joined immediately.

I blogged for nearly a month on "madagain.com", a personal blogging site but didn't find it doing anything then I found steemit and here we are! Great Concept and I Totally loved it!

so what kept you around? Was it because of the reward? Or the engagement you've got on your content?

I would say both! The first month on steemit was really difficult but with time I got the audience confidence! It really feels great to be a part of such a great community and inviting others to be a part of it.

As a long time Redditor I shared some of its ideas and future look on decentralized media.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82