You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't Tread On Me, Bruh

in #politics6 years ago (edited)

I think you partially misunderstood what I was saying. When I say don't give your political position, I mean primarily on paper with authority (nobody else really cares except in petty ways). I started thinking like this around 2004 when republicans started redrawing the district lines to try to rig the vote outcome by delegate so I lied and said I was republican (I wasn't really any party). The interesting result of this is somehow that registration tailed me after I left NY in 2006 and lived in Nevada, then I came back to NY in 2013 but an entirely different place a county removed that should have had no clue what I was registered as. Seems that some were desperate to beef up the voter roles.

The habit that I've formed over the past few years is to redefine what I am in a way that other people don't understand politically. Voluntarism works for now, but as soon as that word gets misused by authority, that label will be gone and I'll "be" something else. It's not hard to do, just reemphasize something else which always works because labels are inherently misleading anyway and can never be completely inclusive of what you are.

Sort:  

Thanks for the explanation, that makes much more sense. It's certainly dangerous to be objectified by those who see themselves as authorities, and labeling is a tool they can use to ease that objectification. I wouldn't say that labels are inherently misleading, but I agree that it's important to recognize their limitations and not view them as an exhaustive explanation of everything another human is.

Lets put it in another way that Robert Schmidt might say (He's the translator of Greek and high ranking scholar I worked with as a programmer)... It's hard to get a 100% semantic field match between words. Many languages have words that just don't translate into English, while some words might have some of the meaning and would be synonyms. While their semantic fields will overlap, they are not a perfect match because their auxiliary meanings don't match. This is what I'm trying to get across.

Agreed and well put. The objective is what is important, not the term used to define the path to it.

This is one reason I stick to my objectives. I state them. My objective is to further individual liberty. As long as someone is doing the same, they are automatically a friend. The labels used to define such a person change. The objective never does.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61238.36
ETH 3278.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46