“WACKY WEED” IS COMING

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

A front-page story in the March 6th edition of the Herald-Standard revealed that Pennsylvania’s Auditor General, Eugene DePasquale has announced his determination to see marijuana legalized in our state. He mentioned that there is no stopping the current national wave of its acceptance and is concerned that Pennsylvania not be left behind in the reaping of the benefits of legalization. DePasquale claims that potential tax revenue on the drug will approach 200 million dollars per year.

Really? Is this what we need added to the already bloated ranks of Pennsylvania alcoholics and heroin addicts…another trouble-laden, “weed” addicted, and potential welfare-dependent class of needy citizens? I wonder at the logic or morality of “increasing tax revenue” by something that will bring so much misery, addiction, family break-ups, auto accidents, and physical and mental debilitation of our youth. Don’t we have enough of these already? Moreover, the expenditures to treat the victims and the collateral program expenses will most likely dwarf any tax revenue.

Proponents of marijuana constantly cite certain questionable research that seems to indicate that marijuana may be relatively harmless. But this conclusion is both unfair and is a clear exaggeration. Much of this research was preliminary or non-conclusive or was done by those who had a bias for the drug. Closer to the truth is the fact that we are just now beginning to learn the long-term effect of this gateway drug. There are numerous studies that suggest that we do not yet know what potential harm may be wrought on cognitive learning, retention of information, reasoning capability, and so forth.

There is ample indication that marijuana may not be the “better than alcohol” recreational drug that it is often heralded. There are multiple articles on Web MD which refute this claim. Among these are: “Pot addiction may be real, study suggests” and “Heavy Pot use can cause physical dependence.” Another site, www.drugaddictiontreatment.com posts an article on “Marijuana Addiction.” Also, “The New York Times” has an archived story, “Marijuana has proven to be a gateway drug.” The “Connecticut Post” newspaper recently carried an article entitled “Yale Study: Marijuana may really be gateway drug.”

Regardless of how many questionable pro-marijuana studies that may be cited by proponents for recreational marijuana, of one thing I am certain. As a pastor who has spent over four decades trying to keep families intact, I know what both alcohol and drugs [including marijuana] are capable for either creating or aggravating family dysfunction. Twice in my ministry I have had funerals for those who were killed in auto “accidents” by drug impaired drivers. I know personally what alcohol and drugs have done and can do to a family….what these have done to my family.

On a personal note, I spent nearly three years in the military during the Viet Nam era and I know what these substances nearly did to me. In 1967 and while a patient at Walter Reed hospital, Christ in his grace and mercy saved me and no medical personnel needed to convince me that my old habits of substance usage were unhealthy neither were they pleasing to God. I very soon discarded them. This, I believe, was the work of the Holy Spirit. So please do not weary me with the alleged “benefits” of the recreational use of “wacky weed.”

But all said, I predict that within the next few years that legislation for the recreational use of marijuana will be a “done deal.” After all, in my life-time our presumed “Christian nation” has removed from schools all prayer and bible reading and any reference to the Ten Commandments. It is illegal to teach our children that God is the Creator of all things. But it is mandated that evolution be taught as an indisputable truth. Many of our colleges and universities refuse to allow any Christian voice or open debate on traditional morality. Tens of thousands of babies are murdered each year by way of abortion and often with funds provided by our government to organizations such as Planned Parenthood.
What I am getting at is that I don’t think the legalization of recreational marijuana is going to be considered a big deal here in a state and nation that has mostly forgotten God. WEN

U5dr9DtsEjT5ESSHPKT8kv8zPypu6yH_1680x8400.jpg

Image Source: Google clip art

Sort:  

Use or not of any food or plant should be a church or peer group teaching thing. Not a government thing. Where in the Constitution does government have any authority over that?

The problem is entitlement programs which steal from the productive to give to the unproductive. Without government welfare people would soon learn what they can consume for themselves and still have the support of peers.

If I were to join a church or group that doesn't encourage moderation, frugality, and discipline - I would probably soon find out that only my tithes were worth anything :-)

You have an interesting take on this, onceupon....Much of our Constitution was conditioned by and based upon commonly accepted Christian precepts even though many of the country's founders were not Christian but Deists.

I have read that the founders prevailing thought on "welfare and benevolence" were based on Scripture such as Ephesians 5: 28 " Let him that stole steal no more; but rather let him labor, working with his hands the thing which is good that he may have to give to him that needeth." Also, 2 Thessalonians 3:10-12, "For even when we were with you, this we commanded you, that if any would not work, neither should he eat. For we hear that there are some which walk among you disorderly, working not at all, but are busybodies. Now then that are such we command and exhort by our Lord Jesus Christ, that with quietness they work, and eat their own bread."

These portions of Scripture are the reason that in the early days of America, benevolence was the domain of the churches and not the government, and it was only when churches neglected their responsibilities that the government usurped their authority and created an immoral system which helped turn honest men into wards of the state.

Any biblical church does indeed teach among other things "moderation, frugality, and self-discipline." Sadly many churches are becoming less biblical and more politically correct and with "another gospel" than that which Christ established. WEN

I wonder, have you actually researched the issue or are you reacting based on years of conditioning? Some of yours statements are problematic and not reflective of historically known truths.

First, there is zero evidence that prohibition is effective in reducing marijuana use anywhere. In every state in the US it has been illegal for decades, yet every single year its use increases. So, it doesn't really follow that making it legal will create "another trouble-laden, “weed” addicted, welfare-dependent class of needy citizens."

Also, its misleading to suggest marijuana is going to create addicts, as it isn't addictive in the way that alcohol, caffeine, tobacco, or heroin are. In fact, many studies show it isn't addictive at all beyond habit forming.

Further, I think if you look at the facts, incarceration of non-violent drug offenders causes more family break-ups than does simple marijuana use. Incarceration of non-violent offenders of any type is immoral and in this country the courts cannot be counted on to provide justice because prosecutors, defense attorneys, and judges are allowed to own stock in private companies that incarcerate people on Government contracts. This gives the "justice system" a financial incentive to lock people away, and the conviction rate is staggering.

Further, if you actually look at the states that have made recreational and medical marijuana legal, they are quite happy with the financial windfall. It's not like we have to guess what would happen anymore, we actually know.

Finally, I'd like to address the issue from a Christian perspective. First, Marijuana is a plant, made by the same creator that made humans. Do you think it was unintentional that it would have so many effects on the human body? Doesn't that make you at least stop to ask why God would create such a plant? It's not a drug, because drugs are created by man. It's a plant, and quite frankly, one of the most useful plants humans have ever encountered. It can be eaten, used for all kinds of industrial products, used as medicine, or used to help unwind.

Sure, it can be abused, but what can't? Are we as Christians going to go around the world and force people at gunpoint to comply to our moral standards? How is that any different than Islam?

I know there have been unending propaganda campaigns against cannabis, organized by chemical and pharmaceutical companies, but it's time we started trying to pull back a little and look at things objectively. How much trouble did marijuana really cause in the societies that have allowed it throughout history? Isn't it at least possible that it is less harmful than many of the pharmaceutical drugs (pharmekia) currently wreaking havoc on our society?

One last thing. When did Jesus command His followers to force non-believers to behave?

Garthfreeman,
I will not take the time to respond to all the straw-men that you have set up. Neither am I advocating for continued usage of alcohol, cigarettes, or other more potent recreational drugs. It may be true that marijuana is less addictive----but so what? I am wondering why should we legitimize and make more available another substance that will only be detrimental to our youth?

You are exaggerating the evidence that seems to support marijuana use and you know that. Many of these studies were preliminary and non-conclusive and were done by those who had a bias for the drug. The fact is in reality, we are just beginning to learn the long term effect of this gateway drug. There are a numerous studies that demonstrate that we do not know yet what the long term negative effects might be including harm to cognitive learning, retention of information, and reasoning capability and so forth.

You may cite as many studies as you care to but as a pastor who has spent four decades trying to keep families intact, I know what both alcohol and drugs [including marijuana] are capable of in creating or aggravating family dysfunction. Twice I have funerals for those who were killed in auto "accidents" by drug impaired drivers...so please don't weary me with your alleged benefits of "wacky weed."

You say you are a Christian, if you are then you should know better that to cite the Lord for creating marijuana with the way that the plant is used today. Have you not heard of the Fall of humanity and the Lord cursing the ground [and what grew in it?] At the very best, the current usage is often a result of humanity distorting the Creator's intended purposes of the plant. I have no problem with the medicinal use of marijuana....when the need is real and medically justifiable.

I also remind you that there are many issues when the LORD demands that non-believers behave a certain way if only for the protection of all of society...Do we have laws against rape, murder, stealing, slander, lying, etc...is that "legislating morality?" I realize I am beating a dead horse in trying to reason with you since your mind is convinced that this drug is of benefit and does no harm to society. If/when my state passes the law allowing marijuana usage, then I will still try to reason and plead with people to let it alone.

But please don't arrogantly assume that I don't have a clue of what I am talking about. I know what alcohol has done to my family and what it nearly did to me. I also spent nearly three years in the army during the Viet Nam era and I know what dope can do our behavior and normal restraints. But when Christ saved me in 1967 by his grace and mercy....no mortal needed to remind me that the old habits and substances were not pleasing unto God and so I discarded them. That was the work of the Holy Spirit and I am just wondering, WHY, since you claim to be a Christian and like to quote the bible, that the Holy Spirit would not rebuke you for endorsing something that has such a history, and played at least a part in hindering men from turning to Christ? I wish you well.

Wow! First I would like to say that you are misinterpreting my intentions. You immediately went on a super-defensive stance and started attacking my character. Why is that?

I didn't set up any straw men; I think you are misunderstanding the term. I also don't think its fair to say I exaggerated the evidence, as you suggest. I merely said that many studies show it isn't addictive. A fact you don't dispute based on your last post. Also, I never insinuated using marijuana recreational is a good thing, I am merely questioning the logic of prohibition.

As an American I am entitle to think for myself, and as a Christian I feel it is my duty. I'm sorry that you have had terrible experiences with losing loved ones to drugs and alcohol. I have too. I've lost loved ones to prescription drugs they didn't need and were way more addictive, too. I've lost friends to addiction to opium based prescription drugs given to them by licensed drug dealers called Doctors. I have lost loved ones to early death caused by addiction to the drug of processed foods, sugar, and tobacco. It sucks. I really don't think we should be passing laws making all of those things illegal, either.

You never really addressed the main point I made, which is that prohibition hasn't been effective in curbing the rising use of ANY drug. None I know of, but I'm willing to hear an example. The truth is, in this country people want drugs. I'm not saying it is good, but it is the truth. I fail to see how adding a large population of unemployable males, who have spent time in a survival of the fittest rape factory like the US incarceration industrial complex, into society is good for anyone.

I think it's an entirely legitimate and logical position. I also think it's entirely legitimate to cite the Lord for creating Marijuana. He did. He also created alcohol. (psalm 104:15) If you want to say man's current use of it is a result of the fall, then fine. We should outlaw sugar, caffeine, chocolate, all prescription drugs, aspirin, etc. God gave man dominion over the earth including all the herbs. (Gen 1:29) and all good gifts come from God, should be received with thanksgiving. (1 Tim 4:4)

I do not dispute that it can be misused or that it can cause harm. So can any drug, food, or activity. We Christians are supposed to exercise self control. I think you could learn a little, when it comes to firing off your replies.

I didn't arrogantly assume anything. I merely posed a question. Here's another: Do you think it's helpful to answer someone with a harsh reply?

I also challenge your use of the term "legislating morality." Who is that addressed to? I didn't use that, and I think it's a poor argument. If you legislate, you must do it by some standard of morality. The question is whether or not society is in more danger or less as a result of prohibition. It is my position that it is more harmful to pass prohibition laws because it creates a whole new set of social injustices. Third world countries are being turned into war torn hell-holes because of gangsters hoping to cash in on the drug trade. Prisons are overcrowded, disproportionately with minorities, largely due to ridiculously harsh sentences, where addiction could be treated more cost effectively by other means without taking a father or mother out of the home during a child's formative years. Gangs derive most of their profits from drug trade. I could go on and on, but really why should I?

Like I said, there are states now that have legalized marijuana and we can look there as an example. As for long term effects, you don't need scientific studies for that, marijuana has been used for millennia.

There are two main points, here. One is political, the other is religious. I only brought the religious argument up in response to your post. Either way, I don't think I should be berated for questioning you.

You are right. After rereading your post, I probably misjudged your intent or motive in what you said. For that I ask your forgiveness. I do not desire in any way to dishonor the Lord by what I do or what I say. I am involved right now in a number of "discussions" dealing with other matters that are more pressing and cannot take the time to discuss this issue with the detail that it would certainly deserve.

The fact is that I agree with many of your posits regarding the potential and apparent abuse of chemicals by health care workers and other foolish societal behaviors. Nor am I in agreement with the inequities of the penalties handed down for this and other infractions.
But I am convinced that legalization and therein, societal endorsement of the drug can do nothing more than create more users and thereby victims of a product that can only distract and cloud the inner voice that might point some to the Savior. Let us simply agree that we do not agree.

Sir, my forgiveness you have. I'm totally cool with agreeing to not agree. In fact, I find most people don't agree with my position, Christian or not. It's probably why I'm always so eager to engage in these sorts of conversations.

God bless, and I wish you well with your other important issues!

I do thank you for the good spirit. And may the Lord bless you also.

Can you give me a link or a proof that weed is a gateway drug?Because in the last ten years I have read the opposite.

There are a number of referenced studied that are mentioned on webMD. These include:
1. 'Pot addiction may be real, study suggests"
2. "Heavy Pot use can cause physical dependence"
3. There are at least a half dozen archived articles on this site regarding
addiction.
4 "Marijuana Addiction" www.drugaddictiontreatment.com

I ask for a study that can 'prove' weed is a gateway drug.There are no addictive products just addicted behaviour. Some women are addict to shopping...Im glad when I home after buying one pair of socks. All those studies you named, I saw the opposite. btw In the Netherlands last month we decriminalized it even more.. 2017 is da year of cannabis.. Should we make steemit ilegal? because last 2 months I been here on a daily basis. Peace n Bless

There are at least a half dozen articles on this subject and on marijuana addiction on the Web MD site.
Also, "Marijuana has proven to be a gateway drug" at NYTimes.com
See also, "Yale Study: Marijuana may really be gateway drug" this is carried in the Connecticut Post newspaper.

Web MD is not a reputable site... It is a site built for the Pharma paradigm and I have read extensively your replies and you speak from a point of ignorance, citing ignorance, spreading ignorance. I thought I would be pleasantly surprised with good factual references but you cite AMA studies. Bye dude.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 07. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.23 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 07 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59508.12
ETH 2603.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39