You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Discussion Topic: Legalize vs. Decriminalization

in #politics7 years ago

I can see both sides of the argument here, on one hand you are right, the taxes to live in this state are crazy high and show no signs of decreasing as it stands. If the Democratic party wins, why raise taxes AND tax weed? Why not use the taxed income from weed sales as the "communal pot" to spend on things needed instead of taxing the people even more? It seems like overkill to me. On the republican side, I do like the push to expand the medical program. It's not debatable whether or not it is beneficial as a medicine for many things (I have Crohn's and at one time considered medical marijuana, but the amount of red tape to wade through turned me off the idea). I've said this before, if we had a party candidate who wanted to legalize weed, expand the medical program AND lower taxes, then that person would win. Common sense is something that escapes politicians and it's disheartening as a voter. In all honesty I will probably not vote as I live in an apartment and don't smoke so neither of these issues apply to me and I don't know enough about either candidate besides those issues to make an educated decision.

Sort:  

Thanks for the input!

I live in an apartment too. I will say that raised property taxes will most likely end with your rent being raised to offset the landowners costs.

And we do have a candidate that wants to legalize and lower taxes. The Libertarian Party candidate.

That's a good point. And with that said, it looks like will have to do some homework about the libertarian candidate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.89
ETH 2421.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44