What I Was Thinking When I Didn't Vote For Hillary - To The Left.

in #politics8 years ago


The left keeps telling me what I was or wasn't thinking when I voted, so I wanted to clear up any misconceptions regarding what I was thinking about or over looking.

When I voted, I thought about all of the Middle East Countries and how we haven’t quit warring with them and bombing them. I listened to our President say he would bring peace, not only did he not bring peace he escalated wars, funded both sides and never took his drone activities public. I thought about the refugees and instead of wondering if we should take them in, I wondered why we were involved with bombing them out of their countries. I thought about Hillary’s involvement in that. I thought about the Iran deal, and how we transferred a huge plane full of cash to them. I thought about my huge desire to get out of the wars. I thought about how Hillary was running half on Bernie’s campaign points and half off of Obama’s agenda.

I thought about my son-in-law who did three tours in Iraq and Afghanistan and has difficulty getting medical help from the VA and how there were 7 years to fix that, but none of it was addressed. I thought about how the wars, ineffectively rage forward. And how now we are toying about with Russia, and again, I thought about how many millions of people this Nation has KILLED (not insulted)

I thought about how much I liked Bernie even though I disagreed with some of his politics, and I thought about how the DNC and friends treated Bernie, and how they talked about him and his followers.

I thought about Hillary’s email and her inability to take real responsibility and seemingly to understand the security risk that created. I was angry that although the DNC knew she wasn’t a popular candidate they ran her anyway, and expected to shove her down our throats.

I thought about how I used to have affordable healthcare and now I don’t. I thought about all of the times I mentioned the Healthcare program was damaging me and my friends who are self-employed, and because I disagreed with a “policy” I was called a racist. I hated GWB and nobody ever called me a racist. I like Obama, but disagree with his policy and that gives people a right to question me at the most offensive level?

I thought about how a whole generation is being taught that words are more important that actions and that emotion is more important than intellect.

I thought about my gay daughter and her family and my mixed race Grandson, and how I didn’t want one piece of who they are to be the main focus. Because I believe people are people.

I thought about the Clinton Foundation, all of the money she received from Wall Street, I thought about how her and Bill treated the women who came forward to talka bout Bill's past. I thought about a young Monica who got in over her head. I thought about Bill Cosby and how easy it was to take him down. But Bill and Hillary are still standing.

So, I voted for Gary Johnson. But, I admit if I had to choose between Hillary and Trump. I would have chosen Trump.

Be angry and hurt, unfriend me, lecture me, I am sad you feel hurt, but I stand by my decision.

I wasn’t thinking about the same topics nor viewing them the same way. I value you, and I like you, and I am really sad that you are hurt and angry over the election. I posted this not to make you wrong, but to tell you what I was really thinking when I voted.  

Sort:  

Almost exactly my train of thought.

If there were only two choices I would have voted for Trump, because Hillary was so bad, and I learned something very personal about both people. Hillary screams at people when she is mad, she cusses out the staff, including her protection officers and the service dogs. Trump goes into the back rooms and thanks the help. Tips them, talks to them. They always have good things to say about him.

On those facts alone I would have voted for Trump, even though I have always disliked him for running gambling and drinking establishments. He is polite to the help, Hillary is abusive.

Right. And actions what about actions. Obama says nice things, but doesn't live up to it.

I was so hoping that with the sheer inadequacy of both candidates people would finally realize there are more than two choices. Apparently, I was wrong. I am with you. Hillary and Bill both, have engaged in incredibly illicit and immoral activities, but people still regard them as for the people.
Trump is an idiot. Don't get me wrong. I've thought he was an idiot for longer than I can remember. But to give someone like Hillary the keys to the country would just be ridiculously irresponsible. Funny thing is, to disagree with Obama makes you a racist, and to disagree with Hillary makes you a sexist and a misogynist. Articles wrote about how America wasn't ready for a woman president. Her being a woman had ZERO to do with it.

I completely agree! My gay friend who I loved posted an article on FB, stating why he is still mad at anyone who didn't vote for Hillary. I wrote this as if I was writing it to him. :)

Truth of the matter is, Hillary doesn't support gay rights any more than Trump. She talks a big talk when she's up for election, but none of her actions support anything she says. She's a liar, double talker, and a back peddler, just like any true politician. To think that any politician, on either side of the fence, has your interests at heart, is fooling yourself. Fact of the matter is, you do not make, nor "contribute" near enough money for them to really give a rat's ass about you. Aside from wanting your vote, that is. In which case, they'll tell you whatever it is you want to hear, to get it.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.61 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 29 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Politicians run things for oligarchs, not the people. Politicians are their first line of defense, basically.

My sentiments exactly! Only better. I get tired of hearing how voting for Gary Johnson means I "took" a vote away from Hilary. No, actually, it took a vote away from Even McMullen. Because he was my second choice. And HE took my vote away from Bernie, who was my third choice, and he took my vote away from Trump, who was my twelvth choice. How do you spell twelvth anyway?

Resteemed.

Just a non-citizen perspective...

I'm really glad Trump won. Hillary would have ZERO influence or respect with our President Duterte, but Trump pre-election gave strong indicators of a Duterte-friendly approach to the current relationship with our country.

America has high approval ratings with the people of the Philippines, and so it is frightening to most of us that Duterte is shaking hands with China and Russia now.

I believe Trump and Duterte will get along very well, and Trump will be able to quench some of Duterte's anti-USA sentiment and get this relationship back on the right track.

I always like hearing from people who aren't in the USA, as they tend to not be so impacted by our media. Thank you for sharing your point of view.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60973.26
ETH 2366.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58