You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Climate change is a hoax

in #politics7 years ago

I would definitely agree with you that climate change is a hoax. The Earth has been undergoing a lot of changes for the past millions and millions and millions of years. During those times, there are drastic changes in the atmosphere, from hot to cold to hot again then cold again. Thus, there's no such issue such as climate change. I would rather call it global warming, 'cause the Earth is really warming up.

And I would like to commend you for saying that:

Many people are not aware that, scientifically speaking, we are at the end of an ice age.

Well, I'd like to inform the other readers that we are no longer in the Holocene Epoch and it's been declared that Earth already entered a new epoch, Anthropocene, that is. Check it here. But, practically, the world just got defrost from ice which happened during the Pleistocene Epoch.

Sort:  

In the article you linked are also many other environmental topics mentioned like plastic pollution, agrar culture or waste in general. In my opinion those are much more important topics than a few µg of CO2 in our atmosphere.

Well, we're on the same page there. Pollution should be addressed, first.

thanks for the lenghty comment! There were huge differences in the German and English wikipedia. But I ranted about those differences on another topic before, so I didnt want to bring it up again.

Since we are definitely on an upwards trend I could agree on proclaiming a new age. I just find the rhetoric of ie "mass extinction " a little over the top. Historic and pre-historic mass extinctions have been much more severe, but I dont have concrete numbers on that tbh.

The most famous mass extinction is that of the Dinosaur, the Permian-Triassic Extinction but there are a lot of extinctions even before the P-T Extinction such as the Devonian, Ordovician-Silurian, etc. which you may call "critical". But these extinctions didn't happen overnight. They happened over a period of time.

Thus, I think extinction is actually happening right now. Why do you think mass extinction is exaggerated? I think it's quite true when you carefully look the world today.

I think the word "mass" indicates something over 50% of species. Not by definition, but as a personal gut feeling. We humans change the world and thus the environment of nature. However nature is resilient as hell. If I am correct humankind took shape during a bottleneck.

Now I love nature and animals. I am really curious about developing better communication with highly intelligent animals like birds, dolphins and dogs. But I hate the term fragile ecologic systems. Nature will crush us someday for sure. We should focus on creating an environment we, as humans, can live in. Nature will be just fine, she survived for billions of years.

You're right. That's why I don't particularly believe in the "Save, Mother Earth!"-campaign because the Earth doesn't need to be saved. Humans do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59476.67
ETH 2299.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48