New Requirements for Politicians

in #politics6 years ago

Alright this will be another political post. The next post will be on something I’m calling A.I.T. Please give this post an upvote if you are reading this on steemit and like the idea. Email me if you have something to add to any of my ideas, something to contradict my idea, or if you just see any grammatical errors in my posts at [email protected] or message me on Twitter. Alright now let’s get started!

Okay this is something I see happening if the Democrats win in both houses in November. If the Democrats don’t win in both houses then this is a presidential requirement I can see happening later on in the future. But basically I see a law requiring candidates for president to release their tax documents before being allowed on the ballot. I also see a law requiring candidates to either give up their businesses or sell them but this is less likely to happen.

Now some might say that a candidate for president should not have to release their tax documents or give up their businesses when they become president, and to those that say that I ask why not? Politics and party affiliation aside, the purpose of seeing a president’s taxes is to know where that individual gets their money from and how they make it, and the purpose of having a president give up their businesses is to ensure they do not use their presidency as a way to enrich themselves. Just think about it, if a person who came from nowhere and became rich suddenly out of nowhere ran for president, wouldn’t it be imperative to know where they got their money from and ergo see their taxes? Or what if someone with several defense companies or stocks in defense companies became president, wouldn’t it be imperative to have that person sell their businesses and stocks?

Why stop with presidential candidates though, I’d love to see all my politicians’ taxes. I’m not gonna ask them to give up their businesses because I’m that won’t happen anytime in the near future but yeah I say let’s have them all show us their taxes. Just like the president, the everyday politician can and most likely have used their political careers to enrich their businesses and themselves. But I don’t see any this coming into widespread affect for at list several years so I won’t hold my breath waiting especially since this is something both parties won’t agree to. I mean some states are already requiring presidential candidates to show their taxes to get put on the ballot but they are most likely not gonna extend that to the rest of the politicians on the ballot.

Let me know what you think though. Should a candidate be forced to show their taxes and get rid of their businesses in order to become president?Should all politicians show their taxes. Am I just an idiotic dreamer? Email me at [email protected] and let me know.

Sort:  

We should just go and try it the Wakandian way. Let candidates for political positions of power fight in ritual combat.

As fun as that would be, if we did that then most of the candidates would be jocks or wrestlers.

I don't know what a Jock is. Wrestlers aren't real fighters, just actors, so I probably wouldn't be afraid of them becoming political leaders.

MMA is where we would have to look at right now. In another time period, it might have been boxing or fencing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56790.06
ETH 2345.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42