New Amendment 1

in #politics6 years ago

Okay this is an idea I got from watching politics recently , but before I start on the idea I want to mention that these next two posts will be based on politics, sorry to those who’d prefer otherwise, and afterwards my next post will discuss an invention idea I call the A.I.T. Also please give this post an upvote if you are reading this on steemit and like the idea. Email me if you have something to add to any of my ideas, something to contradict my idea, or if you just see any grammatical errors in my posts at [email protected] or message me on Twitter. Alright now let’s get started!

Okay this will be a short post but this post was inspired through watching news on the Trump administration. To be more specific, it was Trump’s statements that he could pardon himself. In my opinion, no president be they Richard Nixon, Bill Clinton, or Barrack Obama, should have the power to pardon themselves if they committed a crime. I also don’t think a president should have the power to pardon family, friends, or people they are merely acquainted with. I mean, and I’m trying to reach across the aisle here, what if Hillary Clinton was convicted for her email scandal? Would it have been okay for Barrack Obama to pardon her? No, so I don’t think the current president or any other president should have the power to pardon someone that they have or had a relationship with. 

With all this being said and done. I believe that one of the next few amendments in the future will be an amendment limiting the presidential power to pardon someone. I believe the next amendment will limit the president’s ability to pardon to only people he has not previously been in acquaintance with. By this I mean that no president can pardon someone whom they have been friends with, whom they worked for, whom they worked with, or whom they have previously known in general. The president should not have the power to pardon every business associate, friend, or family member that commits a federal crime because if they have that power that would basically mean that as soon as someone takes office, everyone they know are above all federal laws.

Let me know what you think though. Should a president be allowed to pardon anyone associated with him? Should a president be allowed to pardon themselves? Am I just an idiotic dreamer? Email me at [email protected] and let me know

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60314.14
ETH 2890.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35