State of the Union 2018 (No Filler Version - 25 minute cut)

in #politics6 years ago


The following is my cut of the recent State of the Union Adress delivered by Donald Trump yesterday. The original speech was one hour and 20 minutes long. My version is 25 minutes long, or 24:53 seconds to be exact. Before you watch it, if you so choose to, I should tell you the criteria for what I have cut.

First of all, I have cut all of the segments revolving around Trump’s menagerie of true Americans, which he sat in the audience and praised during his speech, often holding them up as shining examples of various facets of his ideal of the American spirit. These were cut because they were anecdotal and manipulative.

Second, I have cut any statements that were purely jingoistic in nature. I have not cut all jingoism from the speech, but only instances where the jingoism was not interwoven with any issues of substance and was used only in a pandering way meant to inspire an emotional response of patriotism. These were cut because they are empty flattery devoid of substance.

Third, I have cut all of the tedious and long applause sections that occur in all State of the Union speeches. I truly wish our presidents would ask Congress to hold their applause until the end of the speech, as this issue plagues all of these speeches. Applauding every single sentence of a speech is tedious and time wasting. These were cut for obvious reasons.

What I decided to cut was informed by what I strove to leave in. What I have aimed to present you with here is the policy, issues, and substance of Trump’s speech. His view of the issues, his proposed solutions, and the reasoning behind his perspectives and solutions.

My motive in doing this was simply curiosity. I think this cut of the speech can be useful to both Trump lovers and haters, and everyone in the increasingly small category of “in between”. I’ve endeavored to present a version of this speech that cuts to the heart of his positions and perspectives, without the emotional appeals, jingoistic pandering, or tedious applause.

I hope that you find this in some way useful.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

A lot of these trumpsters are too proud and will follow this guy into the pits of hell

Thumbs up if you didn't vote for Trump because you knew there wouldn't be (good) change.

Takiing the applause and hyperbole out is genuis. One of the most frustrating things about watching the SOTU is all the extra time it takes to clap like idiots. Its crazy to me when the opposing party sits like statues when the President says some thing they should agree with.....both sides do it. In every SOTU the President points out and individual as proof of something. I hope the American people are smart enough to see that as anecdotal evidence. When you took away all of the fluff it is easier to listen to the speech for content instead of an emotional response. THANKS!!

Who is Opama?

Parack Opama? He used to be bresident.

Are your dentures falling out #tjkirk? LOL

That one always gets me! lol

Trump sounds so much smarter after you cut him like that.
What? He sound stupid?
Exactly.

Thanks for editing this down, trimming out all the BS. This is a public service, TJ. Cheers

It gave me orgasams to see in the title "no filter" thank you @tjkirk
Yeah, fuck YouTube I agree with you
I was on YouTube for over 2 years
This is my first week on steemit
I made 1000% more of the income in just ONE WEEK

If you made a 1000% more income here on steemit then it is a definite upvote and follow from me. Good luck and have a great time on here mate.

Thank you! I appreciate it mate :) I will post my introduction post/video soon(tomorrow I guess)

I haven;t even created a full profile yet due to lack of camera and computer knowhow.....need to find a technophile for help. Will get there. look forward to your post :)

Donald Trump is the BEST ! Upvote if you think the same ! :D

Like maybe the guy giving the speech?

Nothing that personal. Politician words aren't personal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66254.46
ETH 3319.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69