You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nikki Haley is a boss

in #politics7 years ago

Ehh, I think she came off rather arrogant. Also think that America would do well to let both Israel and Palestine settle their own land dispute. The bloodline beef has been going on for what 3,000 years now? I mean come on, let'em fight it out, we can step out of the way.

Sort:  

Eh, perhaps a bit, but I viewed it more as righteous indignation. The fact that the UN has the nerve to (1) try and shame us for exercising our own sovereignty or (2) think we care what they say when we are paying their way somewhat enrages me as well.

What do you suppose is stopping other countries from doing the same thing with their sovereignty? Like if some Arab country, like Egypt announced that they recognize Jerusalem as the capital of Palestine, and proceeded moved their embassy there on land that they own, or have lawfully purchased.

If that's what they want to do, then they should. We can negotiate any issues as nations. The main reason I'm cheering Haley here is because she told the equivalent of the One World Government to fuck off

I hear you, and I am definitely not a fan of world government either. To me it seemed more like the U.S. had basically declared that they've been greasing the skids of the various nation states with overprinted fiat money in exchange for votes in their favor, which stinks of bribery, and makes the whole process look corrupt. I'd be in favor of the U.S. making a clean break with the UN, but not threatening to because of their fealty to Israel. I don't even understand the U.S. and Israel's "special relationship" I don't think anyone really does.

I'm also down to make a clean break with the UN, but I'm pretty sure we need a reason to do it, legally speaking. I'm not sure of the legal standards applying to treaties, but to simply leave without stating a reason would likely be viewed as "arbitrary and capricious" by a court, giving the court a reason to nullify our withdrawal.

On the other hand, this situation provides perfect cover to withdraw if we so choose. I agree with you that the situation highlights the corruption and waste of tax dollar that is the UN. I have felt that the UN is a waste of time for quite a while and I know others who have as well. That is not the fault of the Trump administration, and weeding out former corruption can only make America look stronger and better in the eyes of its (reasonable) citizens.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43