You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If you support the animal industry are you indirectly supporting slavery?

in #politics7 years ago

If you really believe that cutting vegetables and slaughtering an animal are essentially the same,
I dare you to actually do it. Did you ever slaughter an animal? I have, I wish I had not...
Also try leaving a dead animal in your kitchen together with the zucchini for -- let's say a week :)

Sort:  

Wow, it's all a matter of point of view.

I think it's all a matter of ethics. It seems to me there are basically two kinds of ethics:

  1. Anarchist ethics:
    Don't initiate force.

  2. Spiritual ethics:
    Don't use force.

I am in between the two. Sometimes I use force when attacked (by a mosquito for example) sometimes I don't even when attacked (by a mosquito for example).

Both ethics ban one thing: the initiation of force.
The only difference is that Anarchist ethics allow force when attacked, spiritual ethics NEVER allows force.

Okay, I get where you stand now, but I feel the use of force sometimes might not be based on matter of ethics but could be based on reflex action like in the case of killing a mosquito

Yes. Impulse control is important :)
When it comes to eating meat reflex actions may not be a good excuse, though.
Don't get me wrong: I think everyone needs to decide for themselves how much cruelty they want to be a part of... I don't judge meat eaters.
I have been through all phases in my life when it comes to diet and now I am reducing cruelty as good as I can but I am far far from perfect.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59404.52
ETH 2610.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41