You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A response @br3adina7or's "Poe's Law: Sarcasm and Satire Online" - the problem of contemporary debates

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

Just a clean up of what I failed to do in this post:
1. Maybe I haven't clarified my entire view of Rhetoric (a core component of speech and important to use with the Dialectic to form unstoppable arguments as Antiquity would argue for such) and rhetoric (techniques) as such. I see and love to use some Rhetoric sometimes as you do but I, like you, recognize when it can get entirely empty and stale yet dangerous, but obviously since I couldn't incorporate that aspect without sounding like it came from left-field, I decided against incorporating it. So the next best thing was to just really say this: "[...]rhetorical WITH little substance[...]" because rhetoric isn't inherently full of and empty of content, 'tis a medium of expression and communication of ideas.
2. I will edit the post to incorporate brackets like this [...] to show that I obviously cut off a piece of a quote that should be read but I nae focused my anger on.
3. I probably should've said that piece with the large-small audience thing and how important that is but no. 1.'s reasoning carries here a bit but I could've totally made a para dedicated to this.
Otherwise, like what I said with my DM, you should make this comment into a full-blown post and include more details in it so it can be a full post. And, other than that, I liked this comment here and I wish I could pin this comment to the top like how YouTubers can with comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60865.64
ETH 2393.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64