You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 💜South Africa: Beautiful Chaos 💜

in #politics6 years ago

Coincidentally, I've been getting a lot of material about South Africa in my usual media digest, and well, I can't deny that's one country I have a vague knowledge about.

You know, the usual stuff: BRICS, wines, Elon Musk, apartheid regime.

But then, this week I was reading about lack of potable water in Capetown, and what has caught my interest was the fact that two sources that usually have rather similar points of view had a bit of a disagreement:
while one was saying the whole issue was the result of the global warming, another claimed it was corrupt government that has lead the capitol of the Republic to limit water distribution to 50 liters per person.
As I see it, it is probably a really unfortunate combination of both factors.
Next thing I know is yesterday I read about Jacob Zuma resigning and a the same party appoints another guy that has been involved in some shady deals with energy and mining corporations.

Anyways. Where I'm going is: while it is hard from me to get fully the realities of South Africa, I can relate to your feelings about considering leaving the country and wishing for the corruption to finally cease. As a person born and raised in yet another BRICS country, a modern history of which has also de-facto has been restarted in the early 90s, I have faced those thoughts at some point.

I have left though. Not that I am suggesting that, but I definitely would suggest you to go out and unwind a bit.

Hope you have a great day

Sort:  

thank you so much for this encouraging comment. Yes, I do feel like I need to get away a bit to appreciate it more. I think with the crazy media we can become completely . inundated with it and definitely need to turn off sometimes

My opinion on the water crisis is that we live in a hot and dry place. It has always been hot and dry. The government knew in 1990 about the issues with the infrastructure but pushed them under the carpet, and did not spend the tax payers money on upgrading it. they instead built a huge motherfucker of a house for our fat ex president Zuma.

Thanks for your commenty. I really appreciate it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61964.40
ETH 2998.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47