You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ending Google's Biggest Subsidy -- Net Neutrality

in #politics7 years ago

I can't help but draw a parallel between net neutrality and what I've seen here on Steemit, i.e.:

concentrate capital into the hands of the few providers big enough to keep out the competition.

Maybe the end of net neutrality can partially explain the recent climb in SBD/USD ratio and I have admittedly been spending less and less time here so I don't know if there's anything being done to address the circle jerking and bot-armies but I still see the same fundamental problems you described regarding net neutrality.

Sort:  

Part of Steemit's problem is the initial token distribution. Capital was concentrated artificially in too few people to get the network off the ground but that is actually improving. The distribution is flattening out, albeit slowly.

The bot-army thing is something that can only be address by bandwidth limitations and the like. I quit @minnowsupport because I wasn't getting any return on my investment for the bandwidth it was costing me, for example.

All the bot and upvote schemes have a limited lifespan before they lose their effectiveness, I've found.

There is always a difference between the specification of a problem (building a network that pays for its bandwidth usage internally) and the implementation of a solution. Just because Steemit has flaws does not mean that a system can't be built that doesn't.

I think the rise of the SBD/USD ratio has more to do with a shortage from hoarding into a new bull phase. This is making STEEM worth a freaking ton.

Have you noticed that the post estimations don't match the real world value? Because the steemit front-end is calculating your reward based on the SBD = $1USD when it's actually worth $11.50? That means that posts worth $1 are actually worth 6 to 7 times that.

I've been racking up STEEM at an astounding rate given this 5:1 STEEM/SBD ratio by trading immediately on the market. Then converting STEEM to BitShares and trading them up on Openledger. Working beautifully to help get my work properly remunerated.

I'm glad you're getting decent compensation for the work you put into your posts.

I quit at-minnowsupport for other reasons.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57951.76
ETH 2347.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36