The Post in Which I go off the reservation…

in #politics4 years ago

Folks, I would like to preamble this post by saying I don’t usually go off the topic of Sports, no matter what sport I discuss. Tonight, I have decided to forgo my usual topic and step into the arena of politics. this is scary to me because I have a lot of friends that are on both sides of the political spectrum. More importantly, my political views are the total opposite of most of my family, and those members of my family read my Facebook page and what I am about to say is going to cause waves with them, but it is more important I say what I have to say than any friendship, familial harmony or work tension that it brings. I love my family, no matter what political leanings they may have and I know that they feel the same way about me. For my friends and co-workers, I believe you have the right to support whomever you want, whether I disagree or not, it does not change my respect or feelings about you. I know that my opinion in no way is how everyone feels, but I know in my heart that I am right, and nothing anyone tries to say or do will change that.

Here we are in 2020 and we are about to go through one of the most important elections in the history of this country. I am a huge critic of the current administration, and I will never vote to re-elect the current occupant of the White House. I have seen hundreds of social media posts agreeing with him, as I have seen the same amount against him. I am a true believer that the occupant of the White House has no direct bearing on how my day-to-day life is affected. The President is not responsible for how successful I am nor is he responsible if I am going through a tough time in my life. I have struggled under both Democratic and Republican Presidents, but I do not blame them, I blame myself for the struggles I have faced I truly believe I am responsible for my own success or failure, it does not matter who is in the White House. I am more of a believer that the elected officials at the local level, state level and our representatives in Congress have more impact on our day-to-day lives than any President ever could. I will vote for those representatives that mirror how I feel the government should represent us, and that is the most important thing I can do as a voter that will impact me directly.

Despite all of that, I still have concerns when it comes to the office of the President. At no time in my lifetime have we had a man sitting in that office that morally is the total opposite of what that office represents. To allow a man that before becoming President was a failed businessman, with several bankruptcies in his past, has a history of being a womanizer, an adulterer, A man who has stolen from children’s charities, a man that demeans women, has no political experience, has no moral compass and never saw a bribe he didn’t like, nor turned down a bribe that was offered to him. It has been proven that he has taken Russian assistance in order to win an election. He has lied to the American people thousands of times, and has no knowledge or experience in running a government, let alone his attacks on the media, the disabled, African Americans, Mexican Americans, Muslim Americans, and pretty much endorsed the racist faction of the Republican Party. He has pandered to the top 1% of earners in this country while not helping the bottom 99%. He has promoted the booming Economy, based solely on the performance of Wall Street, not taking into consideration that a majority of the country is not invested in Wall Street, doesn’t own stocks and are counting on Social Security to support them in retirement.

In recent revelations, he has promised to cut “entitlements”, which means he will cut Social Security and Medicare. He has attempted to use FOREIGN influence to dig up dirt on his political opponents and he continues to show on a daily basis that he has no clue what he is doing. The most recent example is the administration's reaction to the “Coronavirus” – one of which was posted by politics USA (<---- click). He has managed this crisis wrong from the beginning, he has underestimated and dismissed the seriousness of this outbreak. As of today, total cases of the virus - 164, total deaths - 19, total states reporting cases – 19. Worldwide, more than 100,000 people have been infected, yet despite all of this, he is in Mar-a-Lago for his 179th visit during his Presidency, and proof that he is not taking this pandemic seriously. While in West Palm, he will also attend a fundraiser, another example of not taking this seriously.

It has been my personal experience that every time I bring up the immorality of this President, the fact that he is not fit, he is not worthy of the office, he has shown that he is selfish, willing to use the office of the President to enrich his wealth at the expense of ignoring the Constitution and the rules against such action, I have had friends and family tell me that it doesn’t matter so long as he succeeds as a leader and his policies are working. Nonetheless, I disagree, and I will not change this view. He is morally corrupt, he is not qualified for the office, he is only out to enrich his own bank account and ego. He has made every single issue about HIM and his popularity, and that detractors of his popularity among his supporters are simply jealous of his success. I say to all of my friends, family, and co-workers… He doesn’t care about you, he doesn’t care about the country, and he most certainly doesn’t care about legislation that can make this country better. He only cares about himself, how he can better his bank account, how he can promote himself, and how many people he can persuade to like him. For those that feel that he represents everything you stand for, please know that he doesn’t give a damn what you stand for or care about, he only cares about himself.

I am prepared to accept and receive all of the criticism that I will get from this post, but understand this… I will not waiver, I will not fade, and I will not stop rallying against this abomination of the office. Come at me all you want, I refuse to allow your rhetoric to change my opinion. I would much prefer a president that brings honor to the office as opposed to one that uses the office to enrich his wallet and demean and disrespect a majority of the population in this country. He has embraced dictators, he has embraced white supremacists, he has called the media the enemy of the people, and he has mocked the disabled. If this is the man you want to support, well then I have no respect for you and I refuse to understand why you continue to support a man that brings shame to the office. A person's morality is a huge condition of holding this office. A man’s personal history and actions should be a barometer of how he will govern, and if you feel the actions and history of this guy should not be taken into consideration, then I ask you, did you support Nixon and what he did in regard to Watergate? Did you support Clinton and his moral improprieties as President when he was impeached? Where do we draw the line when it comes to the litmus test as to who is qualified to be President of the United States?

I wonder if Republicans are so against a Democrat being President they will sacrifice their morality and elect a man that has shown that he has no morality or decency at all. I hope their conscience is at ease and their soul is at peace for electing a man that cares not for you but only cares about how he can financially benefit from being President. Until you realize that is the ONLY reason he wants to be President, we will continue to spiral out of control, the economy will fall, the poor and middle class will continue to be marginalized, and we will not move forward as a country. I will vote for whoever is the nominee for the Democratic Party for president, as well as looking at all of the congressional, senate, and local candidates that will reflect my political hopes for the future… The country deserves to have a resident that is respectful of the office, honors the country, and will honor the burden that comes with being President of the United States.

Morality and Humanity matters… look in the mirror and decide how you want to set us up for the future. For those that say I am a Republican… I will never vote Democrat… Look at what you have placed in office… A man that is morally corrupt… ego-driven… and only cares how the media and the pollsters place him on a pedestal… in order to feed his own ego… he is a false prophet, and he is playing you so that you will vote for him… I’m sorry if this doesn’t change your mind… but I have not said anything here that can be disputed, proven wrong, or shown to be “fake news”

In closing, I will only say this… vote your conscience…

Thanks for reading…

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88