Canticle of the Trolling (Facebook May Fall)

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

images.duckduckgo.jpg

Skip this if you feel impatient. It isn't my place to soak you with a deluge of opinionated dribble

I believe that the advent of civilized, humanitarian society is predicated with populist prose: "As far as possible, without surrender, be on good terms with all persons."

I will do my best to use the word "irony" only once...

A crowdsourced public platform is no place for close-minded political disclosure... at least for one with manners. That being said, the purpose of intellectual inquiry is to broaden horizons, not narrow them. So is the irony with aggressive entreats apportioned through technological apertures. I must break ties with the conscious guidance of my better nature to actually post and encourage people to break out of their virtual microcosms and seek out those with differing opinions.

I don't mean internet pugnacity. I mean intimate, personal discussion with other people. One doesn't need a broad audience to make a viral point. It is often better to stay silent and be assumed stupid than to run one's mouth (or keyboard) and confirm it. I would advise to parlay one's online experience and conduct oneself candidly and quietly... like an adult.

I swore to myself I wouldn't be public with my opinions; but Wednesday whisky is a mendacious mistress (that was unintentionally pretentious, but bear with me). My fingers are tired from having to tailor my timeline. People are banding together under belligerent movements and demonizing those with differing opinions. There is far too much hate spread across this network. Please don't distance yourselves from otherwise affable people. Facebook should bring us together, not divide us.

I have respect for all of my friends, but it is difficult to remain obeisant towards the opinions of people who attack each other every day. If I was to spoon-feed my timeline neoreactionary perspectives, there should be people who find themselves annoyed. Politics are becoming radicalized in morally defined coteries across the board. Alexander Tyler proffered certain opinions of evolutionary democracy (8 steps, for example) far before social media provided the propensity to aggravate historical schedules. Skepticism isn't new. Let's fight the derisive nature of our inner demons, undo the deleterious division cultivated by social media, and treat one another with respect.

"Go placidly amid the noise and haste and remember what peace there may be in silence."

Oh, right...

Just use Steemit instead.


If you enjoyed this post please Upvote, Resteem and Follow me @thatsamejames

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62