You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why do we need Prison?

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

Sry, I was a little hung over yesterday, so I didn't feel competent to answer. ;D

Thank you very much for such a long comment! I really enjoy when people take interest in the topics I write about. I will definitely follow up with the promised proposals for solutions.

On your comment: I actually agree that we can not build a system around the thought 'nobody will do evil because humans have a good nature'. There are situations where the best of us do evil things. There is a famous German saying "erst kommt das Fressen, dann die Moral", which pretty much means, you have to survive (eat) before you can make moral judgments.

My idea is along the lines of: Why not just monitor the people in real life? In prison they get monitored 24/7. Just put a camera and a microphone on them, so they get monitored 24/7 but out of prison.

I will try to make my follow up post on this article today ;)

Sort:  

I understand, thank you for replying. I see your point and you're in the right track and it could possibly work in a developed country like yours but I guess it would have to depend on the crime and how it was committed intentionally or unintended. Because in some cases of murder if you leave the murderer free the families will take justice in their hands commuting a new crime.

I would also be in favor of bans (like not allowed in a city anymore) and "Vogelfreiheit" if it helps to get rid of prison.

Vogelfreiheit was a popular concept in Europe in the middle ages. It literally means outlaw, but many dont remember what outlaw meant in the past. You cant be defended by law, anybody can kill you and will not get prsecuted for it.

When you murdered someone with evil intentions, you lose your human rights. A fair punishment I would say.

Violent crime can also be a 1.World problem. Look at America, those guys are crazy ! ;D

Being an outlaw sounds like something to be scared of. And yes Americans are nuts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.91
ETH 2476.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38