How can anyone still consider himself a liberal in this day and age?

in #politics7 years ago

What is Secular Talk?

kulinski.png

Secular Talk is a political news and commenting show hosted by Kyle Kulinski. It is part of the Young Turks Network, which is most likely the reason I discovered it so late.
The show presents the opinion of the social, progressive liberals that are pro-Bernie, anti-corruption and thus against Hillary and the DNC establishment.

Why do I watch it?

During the Trump Campaign I consumed a lot of Chris Raygun, Sargon of Akkad, Blaire White and similar content. But after a while the arguments and topics started repeating itself and it felt very much like an echo chamber. Secular Talk was great to see important current topics from another point of view. Kyle tries to present the event that happened objectively before giving his comment on the subject. This was once a norm for political commentary, that sadly most seem to have forgotten. He tries to argue with reason even though he tends to get emotional while doing so. From what I heard him say so far, he shares much more values with the allegedly right-winged youtubers (listed above) than he does with corporate democrats like Hillary Clinton.
SecularChannel.png
(screenshot of the current topics on the Secular Talk channel)

Why you should check it out!

It's always best to look at a topic from as many angles as possible. In the current climate of politics in the USA it is very easy to get sucked into an ideological camp, where you hail all of your people without question and declare all people off the opposition to be psychopathic maniacs. Even though I consider myself an ideologue, I find it most of the time to be unhealthy to actually join an ideological group.

"How can anyone still consider himself a liberal in this day and age?"


Kyle Kulinski has many opinions I do not share, like his love for Bernie Sanders. But anyone who wondered like me "How can anyone still consider himself a liberal in this day and age?", should find an answer watching Secular Talk. There is a struggle within the party of corporate democrats, like Clinton against social democrats like Sanders. It is reminiscent of Ron Pauls struggle with the GOP, even though it is blasphemy to compare Bernie to Ron.
The Channel also offers a lot of news, since there are multiple videos released each day covering current political topics. Check it out!

Disclaimer: This is not a sponsored article. I am not affiliated with Secular Talk. All pictures in this post are taken from the Youtube channel Secular Talk.

Sort:  

"anti-corruption and thus against Hillary and the DNC establishment." I had to give an upvote for that! :)

Thanks, mate :D

Kyle is probably one of the best examples of classic liberalism. He lost a bit with me when he started promoting Justice Democrats. His closeness with Chenk from TYT is really sad as well. TYT has become insanely bad neo liberal garbage.

Also, Kyle remained very quiet when Sargon asked him about third wave feminism. I think Kyle is a really good person with strong convictions and acts in such an honest way but he himself is a tiny bit lost when it comes to current social politics.

yeah, I feel like his hearth is in the right place, his head just won't always follow.

I don't know dude,I saw this guy pushing pretty hard for Hillary before the election . Him and Jimmy Dore like to pretend to be against Hillary, but when the chips are down they are still call conservatives racists and bigots and transphobes, and support the SJWs and establishment left.. I don't like him.

I did not look too much into his past. I saw him be on the right side of Gamer Gate in the Raygun song "We didn't start the SocJus". I am happy I never saw him endorse Hillary, I only started watching him after the election. He trashes Corporate Democrats pretty hard right now and especially Hillary. Kyle might be very bias/prejudgemental towards Republicans, but the same is true for most conservatives when they talk about all those "libtards". This political camp thinking is really hurtful for 'our course' in getting rid of the corporate dictatorship.

Oh and Jimmy Dore might have similar content and messages, but I hate his guts. When he tries to look funny into the camera, he could win an award for most punchable face ever. ;)

Yes I totally agree! I think Jimmy's the LEAST funny person I watch on YT. Which is hilarious because he's a fucking comic...

Also Assange apparently calls the Jimmy Dore show 'the best content on the internet bar none'... and they've had some AMAZING interviews that no matter how much you hate him you have to watch in the past couple weeks.

Again I must stress: he's painfully annoying to me. But you have to watch his content, it's just that good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50