You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Flag-Burning and Freedom

in #politics8 years ago

Indeed the flag represents the government now, but once long ago the american flag was all of ours, it represented what was then american valies of freedom, love, and servjce for your family and community.
Sadly, we are alive in a time where the american flag represents impending bombing, wore by soldiers with weapons of war, with oppression and sick intent in mind.
Maybe once again the american flag may wave proud outside my home, as of now i cannot fly the flag because of what its come to represent.
Our society needs to take our flag back, but what is the use if our intend is unjust as well? We need to go back in time and all together preach to all ears that all men are created equal and all deserve life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.
-SYZYGY

Sort:  

When specifically did the flag mean what you say? It has always been a flag of war and government usurpation of authority. Even George Washington was more interested in establishing a colonial aristocracy than in defending liberty for all.

I was being meaningful i suppose, wishing people can unite under a flag or a cause. George washington ordered the massacre of 20+ native american tribes. Hes free mason scum, its beyond me why people love George Washington so much, Thomas Jefferson was the true voice of reason.
I am a native american so i dont consider myself under american law nor as one of its peoples, im just saying americans should rally behind thier flag, they say it means peace and love and strength but ive only got reference from my life and i have seen none of those things personally associated with that flag.

I think that kind of unity is a pipe dream in the first place. People have diverse ideologies and goals, and that's OK provided no one initiates coercive force against others. I'd rather see people worry about principles instead of symbols.

Exactly, i would to. I speak alot about how principles are important. People will never agree, but people must stop the very thought of using force on others. I just joined steemit today, please give me a follow I am an independant journalist and researcher, I intend to have some interesting posts here soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61703.75
ETH 2432.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63