The beginning of Nigeria party system

in #politics7 years ago

My name is Hon Sulaiman wasiu kayode aka Yaradua for state House of assembly irepodun /orolu state constituency osun state (ire dee 2019).

IMG-20170709-WA0009.jpg

The development of political parties in Nigeria dates back to the days of the struggle for political independent in the late 1940s, when the nationalists were at the pre-independence and post-independence and the early post independence periods, political parties in Nigeria were not ideologically based. Rather, they were regionally based and woven around individual politicians who they saw as there mentors.

In the last ten years, however parties were registered based on the exigencies of the time. This was the scenario until 1998, the need to arose for parties that could usher Nigeria have developed and still play a vital role towards the realization of the democratic objectives. Indeed, the last fifty years.

From 1991-1993, Nigeria practiced a two-party system, with the government establishing the Social Democratic Party (SDP) and National Republic Convection (NRC). The military government later proscribed the parties after annulling a presidential election in 1993. But Nigeria returned to democratic rule in 1999.

The restoration of democratic government in 1999 led to a new approach to party politics in Nigeria. The procedure for registering political parties was liberalized, opening up the political space for mass participation in the political activities in the country.

Today, there are more than fifty registered political in Nigeria even though only few of them have not been able to win any election. The few political parties that have dominated the political space to the point that fears are being expressed that the country was drifting towards a one party state. Opposition parties are beginning to cross the ruling party both at the federal and state levels.

POLITICAL ARENA 20170726_135016.jpg

Thanks for going through my post, feel free to drop your comments.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit.com

Welcome to family :)

Hello @Sulaimon I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, Wish you much luck! Cheers! i will follow your account, please follow me .

Thanks you very much for going through my post. The community is a place

Hi friend, very good !!!!!
You would help me with a vote in my post., Thanks !!! ;)

Thanks for reading through my post

hello @ sulaimon Amazing post thanks for sharing us
i am upvote your post and following you now
follow me at @zeeshankhan please

Welcome to this amazing community @sulaimon
Great intro, I hope you will enjoy steemit. Wish you to have a great time on here. You can enjoy my posts too and follow me as well. Thank you and have a good one

A new Steemian :-) hello @sulaimon I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, Wish you much luck! I Have upvoted and will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Welcome! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64316.46
ETH 3170.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49