You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Believe that Permaculture Can Save Our Food System and Foster Food Sovereignty – Lets Take Control Over Our Own Food Again!

in #politics8 years ago

I agree food sovereignty is incredibly important...

It would be great to bring back homesteading rights on public land so more people can create permaculture farms and be self-sufficient.

BTW How do you think technology fits in? It seems to me that oftentimes technology runs counter to nature. It's especially true with big agribusinesses that use big tractors and artificial seeds. On the other hand maybe there is potential for a lot of tech innovation in small scale farming. At the very least technologies that can help growers leverage best practices/info/knowledge, esp. holistically, would seem to be important...

Sort:  

Great question! I think that there is a false binary between technology and nature. I dont think that technology inherently goes against permaculture, but rather governments and agribusinesses have exploited and monopolized technology for their own benefit.

Good to hear. Hopefully we'll see more advanced small scale farming tech soon...every once in a while I see aquaponic/hydroponic products, but haven't kept up. I do like seeing low tech methods as well...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63633.54
ETH 3477.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54