You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Most of America Doesn't Know Who J. Balvin Is???

in #politics6 years ago (edited)

Most of us probably live in some sort of self imposed bubble and can’t conceive of others, in their bubbles, not knowing the stuff that’s near and dear to us in our own.

I know and love J Balvin. He’s everywhere in Puerto Rican reggeton music. This is my very favorite dance song:

D0DD017C-1FA9-4981-964D-871B90D3C99A.png

When my husband hears it come on he looks at me and say, “oh no...” because He knows I am about to hit the dance floor hard 😂 💃

Great art board you created!

Sort:  

Haha I love that song. I think Americans tend to be in more of a bubble than other places, and that it is less self-imposed than culturally imposed by the country. Anything but English just isn't acceptable for so many, and the only people that really learn other languages are the very wealthy, those with parents from another country (and not always then either), or adults who move to other countries and force themselves to learn because they want to. I'm not saying that adults should necessarily feel compelled to do this, because it's hard to learn a language as an adult (I know this firsthand). What I'm saying is that the bubble that would cause people to not know who J Balvin is is likely not self-imposed, but culturally imposed. Music in Spanish (or any other language) just isn't popular. The same is not true in most other countries, however. Why is that the case for Americans? That's something to think about...

Also, thanks! Those pieces are adding lots of home-iness to my apartment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67657.28
ETH 3498.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70