Monica Crowley at the Berlin Wall: "Walls Work"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #politics8 years ago

Being an incorrigible old fart who refuses to have a Twitter account, I didn't see this when Monica Crowley tweeted it over a year ago. I am such an old fart, that I was actually a middle-aged fart when the Berlin wall was still part of the "Iron Curtain". It was considered to be impenetrable and eternal and Elton John's Nikita, was just wistful, wishful thinking.

Rumor has it that Monica will leave Fox News to become Trump's Assistant National Security Advisor for Strategic Communications (ANSSC).

I consider this tweet to be ample evidence of her qualifications for the job.


Hey Nikita is it cold
In your little corner of the world
You could roll around the globe
And never find a warmer soul to know

Oh I saw you by the wall
Ten of your tin soldiers in a row
With eyes that looked like ice on fire
The human heart a captive in the snow

Oh Nikita you will never know, anything about my home
I'll never know how good it feels to hold you
Nikita I need you so
Oh Nikita is the other side of any given line in time
Counting ten tin soldiers in a row
Oh no, Nikita you'll never know

Do you ever dream of me
Do you ever see the letters that I write
When you look up through the wire
Nikita do you count the stars at night

And if there comes a time
Guns and gates no longer hold you in
And if you're free to make a choice
Just look towards the west and find a friend.

-- Elton John, Nikita

Sort:  

Nice song! The actress the video producer got for "Nikita" helped too. :)

Speaking of '80s-era Elton John:

He was one of the few '70s superstars who managed to bend to the '80s. (One other was Bruce Springsteen.)

He didn't get to be called Sir Elton for nothing.

And then, of course, there is Cher. Five decades of hits.

Interesting fact about Cher: she was the first (chart-topper) to use AutoTune:

At the time, it was exotic. Now it's...uh...er...ubiquitous ;)

Cher - proof that old farts rule!

But Peter Frampton invented the genre with his talk box as heard in Show Me the Way and Do You Feel Like We Do?

Amazing. I hadn't seen that.
My first memory of the technology is the Moog Synthesizer.

And of course, we can't forget the synthetic instruments of Tubular Bells!

I guess I should have put "music" into the tags... :)

Wow! I didn't even know that engineers could pull that off back in the 1970s. Was the tech based on the Mellotron?

Wow, seems like it was yesterday, in some ways. The wall between E and W then seems paltry compared to the walls the growing state continues to erect around the citize... subjects today. All the things they were supposedly keeping out with that wall have become mainstream on this side since its collapse.

My biggest concern with the Trump wall is that it may one day be used to keep me in!

Heh, true. I wasn't even thinking of that one!

Hey, everyone forgot about Monica. Richard Nixon picked a winner in 1990 when he hired her. Now Monica takes a 90% paycut to be as close to power as possible = as Communications Director she pretty much needs to know everything Trump and General Flynn know.

Yep. Pretty much a fly on the wall to the next 4-8 years of history. Worth the pay cut IMHO.

This terrible person is either too dumb to understand the implications of her words, or too ignorant to know how many people and families the Berlin Wall devastated.

Nobody who praises the Berlin Wall has any place being in a position of power over others. I'd flag your post for hate speech if your position were slightly less ambiguous.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53406.14
ETH 2398.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15