Is the USA a shithole?

in #politics7 years ago (edited)


No disrespect intended.
By now we all know what Trump allegedly said. He has denied it but we know his mouth has no limits so he could have said it. But we know many Americans think like this. It throws up an interesting but obscene question, is the USA a shithole country?
Now this is my assessment and yours may obviously be different. I have been to the USA many times. Mostly in New York specifically Brooklyn but also on to the West Coast in California specifically the Yucca Valley. Whenever I go to the USA I usually have a good time. Friendly people lots of things to see and lots of places to shop and good prices😎🥇👍
It's hard to beat American prices.
What shocked me though was the terrible infrastructure I saw in some places in New York eg very bumpy roads, cracked sidewalks, filth liferal filth on the sidewalks, A WHOLE FAMILY of rats eating through garbage bags on the street, I heard gunshots multiple times in Brooklyn, and generally the place felt dirtier. Now you must understand I come from Switzerland, I am used to a very clean place, if you look at videos from Swiss people you will see how clean everything is here, yes we have dirt too but a lot less. I had the same feeling in Paris so Americans please don't take offence lol. The french cleaned every morning but with the amount of people passing there was bound to be dirt. I cannot confirm that the Americans cleaned every morning. I am someone who notices these things. I would say they cleaned regularly but not necessarly daily atleast not where I was staying (Lincoln Place). And if I am mistaken I apologise but this was what I saw and obviously my head wasn't glued to the windows. One day we were walking from the area of EDIT Lincoln Place to Park Slope END EDIT. Somewhere there is a neighbourhood with a shopping street. And the difference is clear to see. You go from a black neighbourhood to a white one, all of a sudden the sidewalks are not cracked, they are clean, no dog shit, piss etc., it's as if the sanitation workers there know their job, EDIT and in the black neighbourhood they don't END EDIT. Maybe the people who live there are so used to this that they don't notice but I did. One place was not 1st world and one place was. You cannot tell me that a place with rats, with dirt everywhere, cracking sidewalks, gunshots at night, gangs etc. is 1st world. 2nd world maybe but not 1st.
In California I saw Huntington Beach and some places close by, now that was definately 1st world. Ofcourse in Cali and Ny there are good places and bad, rich and poor, upscale, lower scale and gentrified. I always compare this question to a dalmation some places are 1stworld overall but there are spots that are not.
This is not a condemnation of the people but rather of the politicians who preside over these people. The job of a leader is to lead. So my assessment is that the USA is not a shithole Country but it has some places that need good leaders to fix the problems that the people there face.

Donations are very welcome.
Steem & sbd
@stadex
Bitcoin
17dJpfXwvJzPSKMbo6Mcqi1VVag9WBURnq
Litecoin LYSScJq7Gukcq2NiPaNoVfL7ThbTT55Lj8
Verge
D9dio3CvbHoYJaggiNAQSY41nPgjVTGsCd

Sort:  

I have to say that I agree with what you are saying. The United States needs to improve our infrastructure, we have the resources, the manpower, the ethics to do so but what we are lacking is the vision and leadership to do so.

Leadership is the #1 most important factor. Bad leadership is seen immediately and it's consequences last for atleast 1 decade. I know a caribbean country where the education minister thought it would be a good idea to have all kids pass their exam to go to secondary school long story short that place now enjoys a crime wave over 400% more than before. Are these connected maybe, certainly difficult to prove but what happens when you put a kid that ain't too bright in a school they didn't pass for?
THEY FAIL. Before these kids would be put in special schools where they would be educated in manual jobs and they would excell and become middle class. She(the minister) fucked them up. And she did it for cheap political points. And I'm sure there are all kinds of examples from all over the world.

welcome stadex

happy steeming

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59228.82
ETH 2524.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52