You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: No more election drama! A Constitutional Amendment that will solve our election worries.

in #politics8 years ago

I don't agree with everything, yet I believe your right the 2 party system is not good. My sister-in-law hates the 2 party candidates and was going to write in a name that would not count, I advised her to at least make her vote count and vote for one of the other parties. She said she would, I would as well, but close race don't want to have the person I voted for lose if I gave my vote to the 3rd party or I would as well. I think the electoral college is working but I agree there needs to be a major revision in the voting process, if we did a true majority then Bill Clinton would have lost, and states like mine would make no sense to vote since there are so few people it would not matter. So some of the process is good, but yes we do need a third party in the mix, most of Europe has 3 parties running makes the politics not so black and white like it is here.

Sort:  

Thats why I advocate for Instant Runoff. It just requires everyone to select a second choice, and that choice is initiated if nobody reaches 50% of the vote. The candidates at the bottom of the list get knocked off. It's very similar to some Caucus systems, where you get to vote who you want at the beginning, but since nobody reaches majority then voters have to go with a second or even a third choice pick.

Sounds like it could work if the country was not so polarized as in red or blue. My state is typically red, but this year we are a true battle ground state so for us it seems like that would cost a bit more and end up with the same people on top.

For me, I am concerned that there is no mandate without a majority vote. Not so bad if its 48%, but anything less than 40% is a low approval for a federally elected office (especially President).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67692.01
ETH 3734.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69