You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I am Anti-Gun

in #politics7 years ago

Red-Blooded, Freedom-Loving, National-Anthem-Standing-With-My-Hand-Over-My-Heart American here.

I will make you a deal (but you must agree to keep your end of the bargain), I will surrender my guns (that's right, plural, guns), when you can guarantee that ALL criminals will surrender theirs and they will obey ALL laws.

When you can do that, I will keep my end of the bargain.

Sort:  

sounds like a fair deal. To me it is one of the few deals that need to be made with a state. I would not trust the American State to keep that bargain but I do trust the German State.

I got robbed once in my lifetime and the leader of the gang got 3 months in prison. I think that was the much better solution than me starting a shooting out of self-defense.

I have NEVER been robbed.

3AM.jpg

.

Here is something no German citizen can ever say:

  • “The gun has been called the great equalizer, meaning that a small person with a gun is equal to a large person, but it is a great equalizer in another way, too. It insures that the people are the equal of their government whenever that government forgets that it is servant and not master of the governed. When the British forgot that they got a revolution. And, as a result, we Americans got a Constitution; a Constitution that, as those who wrote it were determined, would keep men free. If we give up part of that Constitution we give up part of our freedom and increase the chance that we will lose it all.”
    – Ronald Reagan

.

guncontrolreagan.jpg

.

Finally, one of the greatest Americans, Benjamin Franklin, said:

“Never trust a government that doesn't trust its own citizens with guns.”

Does a gun really level the playing field between the state, who has taps on all communication and can send a drone to your house to bomb you while you are asleep. The 12-Gauge under your bed won't help you in this case.

If the American Public would repeatedly form Paramilitaries to stop their evil government, I would see your point, but right now the US-Gov is the most irrational and oppressive it has ever been. And no, I am not referring to Trump rather to your extremely biased (lying) media and all the wars you are currently involved with.

Where are the American People stopping their corrupted Government?

I guess I can partially understand your point of view. After all, how can you possibly appreciate a right you've never had.

If you think it is preferable to live under the (hopefully) gentle hand of an authoritarian government, then to each his own.

We Americans prefer a more self-deterministic way of life.

One thing I am actually curious about is how so many right wingers are pro police but also pro gun. For me this is kind of mutually exclusive. Either you believe in the state monopoly of violence or you don't. If you do not trust your government you should be anti-police and pro revolution - Welcome to Antifa :P.

I don't see how the American government is less authoritarian than the German one. In fact the thing that annoys me the most about our government is that a lot of our policies are dictated by the US. For example our relation to Russia; Merkel speaks Russian, Putin speaks German and you tell me those two would have not been able to resolve the Ukraine Crisis peacefully?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66839.86
ETH 3105.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75