You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why do we need Prison?

in #politics7 years ago

Am I missing something here? Criminals are sent to prison as a punishment for their crime! It is to ensure that justice is served!

It does not matter if they may or may not murder again - they did once they and need to be punished. That punishment must be scaled at a level appropriate to the severity of the crime.

Too many focus on the perpetrator of the crime. There should be much more focus on the victim and their family.

I will leave it at that.

SirKnight!

Sort:  

I disagree. I dont believe punishment makes you a better person.

We human have developed society and philosophy so we are not like animals who need to be conditioned to behave.

Thanks for contributing to the discussion. It is good to hear an opposing opnion.

That's not my argument though. I couldn't care less if the criminal becomes a better person or not. I want the prick locked away behind bars for 25 years because he stole the life of another. In fact - I don't care if the murderer is ever released. 'An eye for an eye' as they say. You take someone else's life, your own should be forfeit.

but not all criminals are murderers. I wouldn't propose to just let it slide when a person is killed. But what about the murderer being released after 25 years. Do you think he wont commit crime again, because he was in prison for a long time?

They might kill again and at which time they would need to be punished again. To me it is the concept of 'justice' and justice me be seen to be done. The scale of justice needs to be determined based on the severity of the crime. I don't believe in prison for petty crimes, like you say there are other remedies. It also concerns me that there are many going to jail for things like drugs - to me this is a social problem stemming from high unemployment levels etc - and it is the cause which needs to be addressed. SK.

I will post an idea for an alternative to prison soon. How to handle crimes like murder, rape etc., is one of the toughest aspects in the upcoming post. I would love to hear your thoughts on that one, as well.

Regards TGD

Looking forward to it TGD - SK.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57932.25
ETH 2469.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37