Why I think Erdogan can succeed if he wants to recreate the ottoman empire.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #politics6 years ago (edited)

Erdogan seems to be dreaming of changing turkey into an Islamic ottoman superpower
and I think with current circumstances he might well achieve this dream of him.
I also think the reason he might be able to achieve this is because of lack of foresight from European and American politicians unless they want it to happen.

When you look at the map above or maybe this map will be more clear

He wants to claim all this land as sovereign soil for turkey eventually. Being aware of this he is sure to want to start wars for this at some point.

Why do I think he has a good chance of succeeding?
There are a few reasons that I want to mention.
When they start trying to take these lands they will have to attack their fellow "nato ally" Greece. But there is a big chance that The USA will not be able to intervene due to the possibility they will be going bankrupt soon. Not to mention they are kinda stuck in the middle east. Europe although close will also have trouble intervening.
Why? Because There are millions of ethnic Turks residing in Europe.
Germany alone counts around 4 million Turks. These people might live there,
but from personal experience, I know that they are very nationalistic. If or when Erdogan decides to attack,
these Turkish people could likely rise up in Europe keeping European militaries grounded in Europe. There may also be a chance that other European Islamic communities will try to help out the Turks or see an opportunity to pursue their own interest. There would be massive genocide.

When it comes to the lands in Syria and Iraq, These are war-torn countries. And turkey has a strong military as far as I'm aware. I do think because of this they will be able to bring stability to the regions they are now fighting and occupying to some degree. I'm pretty sure that Erdogan is thinking of a way to not have to return these lands.

So in that case who would be able to stop them? Russia? China?

I do want to mention that what I'm writing here is only based on information that I know,
And might, therefore, be more of a subjective theory than an objective one.
But either way an important one, because turkey today in some way reminds me a lot of nazi Germany. And I am not one of those people that goes around and calling everybody nazi's

Articles I found on this subject are,

http://blogs.plymouth.ac.uk/dcss/2016/10/31/turkeys-new-maps-are-reclaiming-the-ottoman-empire/

http://foreignpolicy.com/2016/10/23/turkeys-religious-nationalists-want-ottoman-borders-iraq-erdogan/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65