You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Taxation Theft?

in #politics7 years ago

I am 100% in opinion for paying the taxes, until I am not in some dictator ruled country, where I may have to give half of my earnings as tax. I personally map my economic success as my ability to pay higher taxes. For me tax is not a liability, ransom or even donation. For me it is an investment. Investment in the infrastructure of our countries, in jobs, in defense and uplifting the people who are currently at the bottom of the economic and social ladder.

Now many people will say, that why should they give their hard earned money to govt. The reason being that these taxes and it's products, i.e. the infrastructure, the roads, the network etc. enable us to conduct our business in the first place. Without the infrastructure, you can't earn much. Hint: see the poorly developed countries like Pakistan, parts of Africa or maybe even some parts of India.

The next thing that most of you will say is that govt. are not using the tax money for the intended purposes. I have to agree with this statement. But partially. Even though, they use part or most of the tax money on stupid things, mainly to fill their own pockets, but it can't be denied that a part of that money is genuinely used in the development of the specific country. When we see it from bottom, then it does seem like that politicians and officials . are using all of the tax money on themselves, but it is being used for us also. The only thing we need is better people up there, which probably we will have in future, if good people actively participate in politics!! It is pretty much like on Steemit. We minnows feel that the platform is being milked and profited only by the whales and we have nothing to earn here, but in reality the options are available for everyone to earn.

I end my comment with the strong opinion that just pay your taxes, don't make excuses!!!
Apologies to the people with whom my opinions did not match.

Sort:  

Hypothetically: What if I come and I say I will kidnap you, if you don't pay me a some of money? Isn't that taxes? I am taxing you. The money will be used to fill in the pot holes on your street. I don't feel comfortable doing that but that is essentially what makes people pay taxes, isn't it?

One question is, is a government controlled by a banking cartel legitimate enough? https://www.amazon.com/Creature-Jekyll-Island-Federal-Reserve/dp/0912986212

Well, I would say the money that you are holding is of other people and not yours. Considering tax amount as the govt's/country's share would be a better thing. I think this concept of govt. taking our money forcefully comes from the fact that we just don't want to contribute willingly. If taxes weren't there, then a country's development won't be there. And since people would never willingly do their contributions, force is required. That's just how we contribute....

A very interesting perspective. Now, if you had wrote a comment that matched perfectly to the opinion I already have, it wouldn't have anything to learn from said comment, would I?

I find it absurd that you apologize at the end. Don't apologize for having a distinct opinion. Bad behavior is when you attack another user personally in some way.

Haha, the apology is more out of fear of whale downvotes than out of modesty.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52