You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When Politics Become Personal, Everyone Loses

in #politics5 years ago

image.png

The content of this post I can empathize with its entirety.

My nephew is a former Congressional candidate for the State of Pennsylvania for the Libertarian Party. His politics and mine are at odds. Due to this we no longer engage on FacebookTM. Our situation was very similar to you and your sisters'.

Myself? I no longer respond to much political discourse anymore; whether the discussion is on social media, or in person. My emotional and mental health as well as relationships are too important to me to allow politics to cause me a breakdown in any of these areas.

I have very strong political views although they do evolve with time and circumstances. By no means am I a pundit in the area of political science. Yet; I have traversed this world and have had many first person experiences that give me my personal political beliefs whether it be domestic or foreign affairs.

Ain't nobody paying me for my political views (with the exception of an upvote on a politcal topic here on STEEM). Therefore; I will keep my political activity consigned to voting. Maybe then I will stay out of trouble !

Sort:  

I hear you on that one. When I engage in political discussion ... I'm generally watching for information and perspectives I've not seen before to look further into. Telling me how much you hate/love some party or politician is old news.

Many times that old news is also fake news!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60844.65
ETH 2995.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88