You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A message to you crazy Political righties...

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

I don't respect your opinion, but I tolerate it and will defend your right to have that opinion. That being said..what's wrong with thinking your country is better than others? I sure wanna live in the country I believe is the best? If I thought Venezuela was so much better I would move there and participate in the joys of communism. What else? Oh..immigrants should go home. Yes, they should. If your incentive to come to a country is to leech on it's welfare system you should go home. Did you know that 85% of all so called "refugees" to Scandinavia are males between 18-30 refered to as "children". By letting these fighting age males into our countries we have to spend money on them, instead of helping children and women that are left behind. Sometimes the biggest evil is paved with good intentions. And that's the path the naive left is walking down. In my very humble opinion :) I DO however like your idea of people being good. That's very positive. Most people are pretty good, INCLUDING white people (who if you listen to main stream media and hollywood are all NAZIES now..)

Sort:  

Can't really find the article but the right has similar problems. In the war of terror a live is valued at about 200 million USD, while on every other life protecting service like fire department or police it is about 10 million. So the war on terror is effectivly killing our own population by consuming funds that could be used better.

And I don't even know why the left, who had tight border patrols in the cold war, is now the pro immigration camp. I love other cultures, but that is more of a personal taste, and even I think that immigration is out of control and often done in a very unsocial way.

Doesn't surprise me that a Scandinavian doesn't respect other peoples opinion.

I think that word is wrongly used. Respect means; a feeling of deep admiration for someone or something elicited by their abilities, qualities, or achievements." I don't ADMIRE you for having different opinions than me, or disagreeing with me. I Tolerate it. People throw around the word "respect" too wildly. By the way..it's pretty RACIST of you to judge ALL scandinavians based on my opinion. Didn't you know that swedes have accepted more "refugees" than any other country on earth relative to their population? 200,000 refugees 2 last years , and they're 10 million people. That's 2% of their entire population. :) That went well..

It's just you, using the word wrong, not the whole world, you should respect every being on the planet and their opinion, especially if it doesn't harm anyone.

no, that is not correct. Respect is earned and tolerance should be a given. Sure words only mean that what the people using them define them to be, but in your definition what is the difference between respect and tolerance?

Respect is something a respectable person gives or holds. Tolerance.. is tolerating.

Read the definition. You can't just make up your own definition of things. So when should we tolerate then? What actions do you think should be tolerated? Should I respect things I strongly disagree with? Why? I tolerate them. And some things I don't even tolerate.

You make your own definition of the world and chose what is wrong and right. Just because something is defined by Merriam Webster, I am not forced to believe that it is truth. I believe that truth is respect and oneness, you divide. I like to unite.

Respect is something a respectable person gives or holds.

You just made a logical loop. You said A is given or held by a person who got A. And B is B...

You are free to define the words you use, but your definitions are not well-formed :P

well, well-formed can also be defined different, what is well to you might be not so well to me, but I accept and respect it.

I have to jump in here and agree with @scandinavianlife and @thatgermandude for their adhesion to definitions. Yes you can splice words, but the original argument here started with separating respect and tolerance. The two are different. Think of it like this: Say you knew a guy had thoughts, you are looking at him, but he is saying nothing with no emotion...would you respect him simply for having his own thoughts and opinions? I don't think you would. Yet, I think we can all respect each other for coming together as left and right and trying to work together and find common solutions...because yes the world has fucked up problems but at the core we are all people who want to be fulfilled and happy, and in light of all our similarities, that's what deserves respect.

well-formed is a fixed term in logic. You can redefine it, but than you are not talking about logic anymore. I should have mentioned well-formed is a specific term tho.

And I did not use it correctly either, your logic was well formed it was just circular reasoning which is a logical fallacy.

I disagree there, friend. We need to stop bombing their countries first. That would help imo! God help if we had to flee somewhere. If you fled to Britain from a potential internal war with other countries poking their noses in on, would you think it right that me and my mates were picking you off one by one with our shotguns as you tried desperately to flee from hell? Shouting fuck-off back to Scandaniavia you scrounging, leeching bastards?

Just curious :)

You know, we fled to Sweden during the second world war. We worked hard as hell, and when it was over we went home :) No hand outs, no nothing. I absolutely agree that our corrupt politicians (which are pretty much leftists all of them - they are definitely not libertarians) should stop bombing other countries. But I didn't approve of that, and no one else I know approves of that. It's not like we voted on bombing Libya or Iraq. They just decided to do that. The opinion was strongly against it.

The thing is..70% of refugees in Scandinavia are not even from countries in War. :) Only 20% are syrian refugees, and 90% of them are fighting age males. We are spending huge amounts on money on them. Only 20% have a job after five years here. The rest cost enormous amounts of taxpayer money. Money we could spend on helping children and women in ACTUAL war zones. I'm not against that. And unless you've been living under a rock..there are ENORMOUS problems with migrants in for example Sweden. These are economic migrants, not refugees.

Do you know about the recruitment agreements we did you can find an explanation of them under the term Gastarbeiter on wiki. I dont blame the people who took this opportunity. I blame the EU and NATO for forcing these laws on Germany. The real juicy stuff is of course only mentioned in the german version...

Of course. I don't blame people either. :) People do what's in their best interest.

Okay. I'm going to respect your opinion and leave it at that. I reeeally think we're missing the entire point of the whole article now lol.

I'd rather know what your favourite beer is! Scandanavia has some amazing beers :)

No need to respect me. Just tolerate me 😁

That's my choice though, isn't it? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65651.70
ETH 2676.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91