State of the Union

in #politics5 years ago

I feel I need to weigh in on Trump's speech last night. I think that it is no secret where I stand on politics, so it was extremely painful to hear how the Traitor in Chief spoke directly to "his crowd". Beforehand, speculation was that he would focus on "the need for unity"....but what does that mean to him? Well, apparently it means that we ALL need to stand together to build a wall. It means that we ALL need to stand together in the fight against abortion. It means that we ALL should follow our "fearless leader" into the depths of hell.

Well, this did not sit well with me. He straight up insulted those of us who make up "the resistance". Those of us who who believe in choice. Those of us who want to see humanitarian needs fulfilled.

In particular, I noticed that, while he did not outright "lie", he did only tell half the story. Yes, there are more women in the workforce than ever before - but at what price? Wages so low they can't support themselves. He bragged as though he were responsible for the highest number of women in Congress. Well - I suppose he is sort of correct, he is kind of the reason all those Democrat ladies made a stand.

Once again, he focused on the issue of illegal immigration in the wrong way. He talked about the monsters who support ISIS. He talked about gang savages. I mean - no matter what these people believe or have done, they are people - not necessarily monsters or savages. This is the language we spoke hundreds of years ago.

I could go on forever on this rant, but I might save other parts of it for another post later.

You want unity? Listen to your people - all of your people. Not just the ones who will follow you into oblivion. You want respect? Earn it. Because I have absolutely none for you, Mr. President.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hello@sagitta6
It post has been recommended by me for the #upgage challange by @zephalexia

Posted using Partiko Android

i understand what you feel about it. and yes you're right as well that a president should learn to listen to the people of the country as well. respect begets respect.

Your post has been recommended by @lavesh for my up-gage challenge

You are welcome to join as well , engage and get rewarded with upvote+steem

There is a serious lack of respect in this country right now. The president does not respect his people. The people do not respect the opinions of others. Minorities are disrespected and oppressed every single day. If you are not straight, white, and Christian, you are classified with the "monsters" and "savages" he spoke up. As someone who only has one of those going for me (white), I am terrified for my own safety and my future.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62233.47
ETH 2998.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50