You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: AOC is self destructing

in #politics5 years ago

"AOC is self destructing"

"... the fact that it was 100% staged."

Is this a surprise @meno? The surprise to me is the election of a twenty something to a position with that much power. As a rep for 100s of 1,000s of Americans ...

"... yet everyone is just trying to win the popularity contest."

Years ago, as a political activist, I resigned my position over my perception of what was coming. With far too few people willing to accept the stewardship responsibility for the work needed to maintain the freedoms of our Republic ...

"We the people" are reduced to this. Both on the "left" and the "right" ...

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

You're falling for propaganda and misinformation, be skeptical.

I have only downvoted your post, not out of malice, but because I want the fact check to be at the top for anyone else who might be duped by the lies @meno is promoting and refusing to own up to. I will upvote your other post to compensate because I appreciate the conversation.

“In here” briefly this morning @cyberdemon531 and I find this …

”I have only downvoted your post, not out of malice, but because I want the fact check to be at the top for anyone else who might be duped by the lies @meno is promoting and refusing to own up to.”

… so, I will let you know the only reason for my reply now is you have chosen to both explain yourself ... and … offset the “damage” by upvoting my comment below. You apparently believe enough in the moral superiority of your position to justify your manipulation of Steem votes to meet your objective …

”… because I appreciate the conversation.”

Hmmm. Surprising to me! What are you anticipating our “conversation” will be from this point forward?

Prior to electing to become active on the Steem blockchain, I had intentionally never previously established any sort of online “presence.” “In here” for over a year now, I still at times question the value of it. As I have written elsewhere, “face time” is much more than an app to me. That said, it is unmistakably clear that this new technology provides a means of communication with people I am unlikely to ever meet in person. From all over the world

So … I will respectfully “listen” to your answer to my question. If there is some value in continuing, know in advance I will be insisting on some “rules of engagement.” Otherwise, I will not invest any more of my time into it …

We can start with your response to my other post.

The internet is made of up real people who believe real things. The majority of the younger generations are extremely left and are winning and winning and winning, and ignoring that is bad for your world view. It keeps you in your bubble. That's my thing, I want to pop that bubble so you can see all the truly great things that are happening politically right now.

There's a successful anti-israel movement pushing them further and further from being able to murder Palestinians.

There's a great movement for medicare for all, so that people like my mother don't have to die from lack of healthcare treating preventable illnesses.

There's a movement to stop the prison industrial complex from incarcerating our entire black population and more.

There's a movement to legalize marijuana which helps the previous point, and promotes liberty.

I can go on. Focus on helping others with your message, it's the least you can do.

Okay @cyberdemon531, you appear interested in having our “conversation” continue. While I will make no pretense to having the enthusiasm for it you appear to have, I am willing to go forward. For now …

Rules of Engagement:

  1. Civil and respectful at all times. You’ve already “danced on the line” in what you’ve written to me prior to this. Anything remotely close to how you’ve chosen to express yourself elsewhere on this post and this “conversation” will be over.
  2. Setting expectations on time commitment, I am very unlikely to match the time you appear to have to “engage.” Meaning there will likely be delays at times, in hearing back from me. I will always follow through, however, and my commitment is you will always know what to expect. Specifically, I will let you know, if I decide I am no longer willing to “engage” … And the reasons for my decision … Otherwise, I will be getting back to you …

Simple. Straightforward. At least to me. I will assume so for you as well, unless I hear otherwise.

While I may in the future chose to come back and comment more specifically on any of these many topics you’ve raised, that is not where I want to begin myself. You elected to let pass my reference to your presumed “moral superiority” in expressing yourself the way that you have thus far. You’ve not challenged this, so either you missed it or you accept it as true. Until you indicate otherwise, I will assume the latter to be true, since it is unmistakably clear (to me) from your manner of communicating.

Questions:

  1. My position is what we think is based upon the foundation of what we believe, i.e. our system of belief. Do you agree? If so, how would you describe your system of belief?
  2. What is the experience base from which you have learned / derived all that you have chosen to say thus far?
  3. Your Steem profile references being an “anarchist communist” … In your view, how accurately does this associated Wikipedia article describe your political philosophy?

That’s it for now. Some of our extended family is getting together this afternoon, so it is unlikely I will have time to write more today. If I do, it will be later tonight ...

In response to your rules:
  1. I am civil until the person I talk to proves themselves to be irrational. I was civil with @meno until he started defending concentration camps and even going as far as promoting and upvoting nazi eugenics posts. If you dont do that (which it seems like you arent) then we are good to go. Same with the other guy whose name I can't remember because he's irrelevant.
  2. Time is not a concern for me, take as long as you like.

I 100% believe I am morally superior to people who advocate for concentration camps, eugenics, and libel. If you want to see human suffering and you strategically position yourself to enable it, you are garbage. I don't believe that applies to you, just the others.

Answers to your Questions:
  1. Actions speak louder than words, I don't much care about what people claim to belive, I care about how their actions compare to those beliefs. Like, for example, @meno claimed to be a peace-loving liberal. However, he published lies about someone who is promoting what he claims to want. He then upvoted someone who posted nazi-style eugenics. I consider beliefs without congruent actions to be "virtue signalling" and useless.
    My foundation of belief is that all human life is precious and that human suffering shouldn't exist. It doesn't need to from a scarcity standpoint, and thus my actions fight for redistribution of stolen wealth by the elite class. Furthermore, I am a staunch anti-racist and believe all people regardless of who or what they are should be treated based on their actions, as stated prior.
  2. My experience base is community organizing, local political meetings, national discourse, research, historical studies, and running a livestream where I discuss it for several hours a day. I am very involved on all scenes, or at least as many as I can.
  3. I am not going to read the entire article, but rather outline what I belief more directly. We need an egalitarian society as soon as possible, we need to usurp the levers of power in the united states and across the world to use those levers for justice and for good, and slowly dissolve the need for federal government over the course of a 100 Year Plan by encouraging direct democracy in our economy via worker-collectives and others. The rise of automation and the drastic reduction in required labor is a core requirement.
Loading...

You certainly appear to keep up a remarkably consistent and quick response rate. And ... You have responded well ...

"Credit where credit is due" @cyberdemon531. This is just a quick note to let you know that means something to me.

I will be back ...

Posted using Partiko Android

Perhaps you have mistakenly taken my comment to be narrowly focused on the specifics of this post @cyberdemon531. It isn't ...

I could elaborate, but I'm sure you and I view this very differently. Which is just fine. At least with me ...

If you are responding positively with a post that is proven false, it makes you look silly.

You also said nothing of substance in your post, just conspiratorial vague nothings about feelings and emotions.

I'd love to debate on why you think dismantling concentration camps is a bad thing, or why healthcare for all people is a bad thing, or why saving the planet via green energy is a bad thing.

Feel free to tell me, it's not about convincing me, it's about expressing yourself coherently enough to have a chance.

Okay @cyberdemon531 ...

"If you are responding positively with a post that is proven false, it makes you look silly."

... I'll take another minute or two to make my point more clearly for you. I could hardly care any less about whether or not what is stated here in this post about AOC was staged or authentic.

In browsing through my feed this afternoon, I saw this post, read through it and deemed it worth a minute or two to make a much broader point about what I perceive to be the decline of our representative Republic.

"You also said nothing of substance in your post, just conspiratorial vague nothings about feelings and emotions."

Statements like this lack the civility and respect I would insist upon if we were to truly engage in any sort of "debate."

That said, I think your comment is well worded enough to provide you an upvote. The same as I do day in and day out for all those with whom I "engage" here on our Steem blockchain.

Have a good evening!

But you made no broader points? I'm not trying to be disrespectful, but when you lie or defend lies, it makes it hard to take you seriously.

You made literal substanceless statements.

I resigned my position over my perception of what was coming.

huh? What was coming? What came?

people willing to accept the stewardship responsibility for the work needed to maintain the freedoms of our Republic ...

huh? what does this mean? What work is needed and how aren't people doing it?

"We the people" are reduced to this. Both on the "left" and the "right" ...

"This", this what?

This is what I'm referring to.

Okay @cyberdemon531, before calling it a day, back to responding to your last message.

Historical Context:

  • Precincts represent the most basic component of the political “map” in our country.
  • I was a District Leader for 6 years in the late 1980s, early 1990s. Responsible for 45 precincts in Washington state.
  • I resigned my position upon the election of Bill Clinton in 1992. Far more than just his election, it was the election results that year all the way down to our local state representative, which led to my decision. Too many details of the corruption, etc. experienced during that year to go into now …
  • While I and a fellow District Leader, with whom I worked very closely, won a number of accolades for our efforts over those 6 years, there was endless frustration with the unwillingness of far too many people to do much of anything, except vote. If that …
  • Overall, my perception was the American people were “progressively” voting into power a ruling class; elitists who think they are superior to the people they were elected to represent. And once in power, there is a great deal of corruption and propaganda which goes into keeping them in power. Both on the “left,” as well as the “right.” The result? Our legacy of liberty was / is “progressively” being lost …

Meno’s Post Context:

  • AOC’s election to me represents an acceleration in the decline of the American electorate. His post provided me an opportunity to make that point.
  • Beyond the narrower point of what happened during her border visit was his reference to “trying to win the popularity contest,” which I cited in my response.

My Response:

  • Civic responsibility and even what it means (with all due respect, your response supports this …) has largely been lost. Think of precincts as neighborhoods and / or communities. There are critical roles and responsibilities associated with the “healthy” functioning of our political system at this level.
    The last time I was actively involved, the vacancy rate was +50%. Note I did not say the incompetence / “slackadaisical” rate was +50%. Far too often, there is no one volunteering to fill these roles any more …
  • Our representative republic is being lost with this failure to accept our civic responsibilities.
  • We are left with what is referenced in Meno’s post. An endless parade of sound bites / photo ops, etc. where little of any real substance is actually transferred to “we the people” to make well informed decisions, when we turn out to vote. If we turn out at all …

That’s enough out of me. Hopefully this provides you with what you perceived to be the “missing pieces” in my original response to this post.

I 100% agree with you about local level politics, I am an activist and working on expanding my reaches in my own areas.

The thing about where you're wrong is that you seem to not be familiar with AOC, or any of her freshmen colleagues. They talk policy SUBSTANCE all day long on twitter, facebook, the hill, instagram, and elsewhere, bringing those great and progressive ideas to an entire new generation of new voters. The phasing out of The Third Way politics of wall street and big business is over.

Look at Bernie Sanders' "Anti-Endorsement" list, as an example
https://berniesanders.com/anti-endorsements/

Going AFTER big business, going AFTER wall street, going AFTER the people that you hint at to be the culprits in a crumbling democracy.

Things are changing, stop being so cynical. Headlines aren't everything. Go deeper.

Providing you the courtesy of a quick response @cyberdemon531, my wife has just arrived home unexpectedly with our grandchildren.

I am not sure when I will have a follow-up reply, as "real life" always takes priority for me. Hopefully, you'll understand ...

Fair enough. Take your time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59431.63
ETH 2320.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50