You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Should We Tolerate Heterophobia From The LGBT Community?

in #politics6 years ago

It sucks if people are rude to you in general so I certainly don't wish that on you but I think you might not have the perspective that an LGBT person does. I have had my share of rude servers and salespeople, snotty gay people and straight alike; it may or may not have had anything to do with my orientation. But unless a shopkeep is yelling "fag" at you (or the straight equivalent...oh wait, there isn't one...) you definitely don't experience the level of homophobia that a queer person does. It's really not comparable. And I know that can be hard to see through privilege or when people are rude to you but, unfortunately, rudeness exists everywhere and it is NOT the same as discrimination.

Sort:  

What the OP is too chickenshit and/or dishonest to say is that any threat to his tribe's absolute unquestioned dominance is intolerable, and that his primitive tribalism can justify stooping to any depth far below those he's condemning as reprehensible when some "other" tribe does it.

And if he tries to respond to this to explain to me that I'm over-reacting, I'm gonna point directly at the broad generalizations he as an individual chose to use, and ask him to take a long hard look in his mirror to ask himself why he did so.

I have never read such an utterly clueless, ill informed and uneducated response that you provided in your first comment. Had you bothered to read the article you would realise that I was not saying that all LGBT people are hate filled people. I was saying that there is a significant culture emerging within the LGBT community that stipulates it is acceptable to hate straight people by virtue of them being straight. This is nothing whatsoever to do with securing the dominance of straight tribalism as you put it. Stop inventing things and start facing the reality that heterophobia exists in our society and it must be stamped out.

I will apologize again if my initial reaction was overly hostile or defensive. I hope you understand the reasons why though. I've been in enough life-and-death situations and spent enough time on operating tables that I don't have a dimmer switch when I sense danger. It's on or off.

However, heterophobia is not a thing, and cannot be a thing without the existence of group ideologies. If individual LGBT people are acting like that, you cannot claim "a significant culture ... that stipulates it is acceptable to hate straight people" without being just as deserving of condemnation as they are. I can assure you that no such culture exists, and I'm the front line calling them out on the carpet when I hear or see individual LGBT people lumping all straight people into "the other" like that.

'Heterophobia is not a thing' you state. You are an utterly ignorant person. Go away.

If you don't like someone observing your hypocrisy, the problem is your hypocrisy, not that it's observed.

But sure. Have fun with your echo chamber. I actually hoped for a rational debate.

No hypocrisy from me. You are the hypocrite and you live in ignorance. Educate yourself and read articles properly before you make erroneous conclusions.

You appear to be the archetypal fascist leftist. Your ignorance and your hate is not needed on Steemit.

Says the guy dropping 100% flags on my comments.

Ancap. It's short for anarcho-capitalist. I'm hardly a leftist.

Right. My ignorance and hate.

You're really setting a great example of model behavior on Steemit.

For every flag you drop, I'll get twice as many upvotes. But we can play, if you like. I was content to forget about this "discussion".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62108.38
ETH 2582.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57