You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Dumbing down of America - Racism and violence in the USA

in #politics7 years ago

There seems to be very little we can do as individuals. If each individual makes a decision to treat others with love a respect maybe we can change the world one person at a time. Maybe we can have a world that values people and not ideology. I'm hoping in my lifetime I see a states convention. I hope I see our federal government lose power. I hope I see a president that actual CARES about his/her PEOPLE. I hope and I hope. And I try to affect change by being the change. By showing love to everyone i encounter.

Sort:  

I believe there is a lot of power in what you do as an individual. Just being a good human being and as you said treating everyone you meet with love and respect. That reflects back to others and spreads. Love beats hate. I really believe that to be true. And I believe you can affect change by being that change as you said. I believe many of these people who are part of the white nationalist movement are disenfranchised poor uneducated people from bad families. You're born with love you have to be taught to hate.

I watched an interesting movie the other day on netflix. Its name escapes me but ill try to find it. It is about a controversial black man who meets and befriends KKK members! The interesting thing is many, most after meeting him and after some time learn to respect him realize they were wrong and many gave up their KKK robes and left the KKK. He has a whole collection of Robes from people who left. He gets some flack for what he does. But I believe he is right in doing it. He doesn't condone their actions but he starts a dialog and often that leads to them having a major change of heart and complete life change.

I heard that story too. Very inspiring. Here it is as a podcast

http://snapjudgment.org/node/52767

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58118.57
ETH 2462.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38