Reality Is Subjective

in #politics6 years ago

steemit98.jpg

"Trained for decades to be little more than good consumers, we had become a nation of reality shoppers, mixing and matching new items to fit our own self- created identities. We rejoiced in the idea that reality was not an absolute but a choice, something we select to fit our own conception not of the the world but of ourselves."- Matt Taibbi, The Great Derangement

steemit103.jpg

Matt Taibbi is a journalist primarily known for his work at the iconic Rolling Stone Magazine. I have been reading his work over the past few years and have come to truly enjoy his writing style. Biting in its critique of the subject matter at hand (typically related to politics) and balanced with a voice that comes across as what most of us would be thinking to ourselves about the world around us.

steemit102.png
Matt Taibbi

The context of this quote was in Taibbi's analysis of the 2016 US Presidential election. In my opinion this passage by Taibbi in his book The Great Derangement speaks volumes about the ways in which American politics and consumer culture have completely overlapped at this point.

steemit99.jpg

steemit100.jpg

I think Taibbi would agree, it has been this way for a while in the United States political system. Only now with the election of Donald Trump this movement appears to be on steroids now. It is quite breathtaking to be a witness to the extent to which the media, our politicians and tech companies have work in sync to create a country dictating almost entirely on consumer- like choices.

As I like to say sometimes, "The Revolution WAS televised! It's just on commercial break right now."

Americans love the buffet. We love the super size life. We have come to live in an echo chamber of our own ego, with multiple technological tools at our disposal to propagate this self- centered paradigm of living.

steemit97.jpg

In many ways the entire discussion is a "catch 22." In many ways the lifestyle enjoyed and embraced by Americans is the most luxurious in the history of humans. For all its flaws, America is one the greatest and most successful (to date) experiments in large scale government and economics.

With that being said, many around the world are beginning to wonder if America has already reached the apex of its capacity, to the point where now even the people of America are literally expanding ourselves into obesity. I would suggest America has a long way to go until her final curtain call on the world stage, but as of right now she is not doing so well.

steemit104.jpg

Although these words can be taken as a harsh criticism of my country, my hope is that as my country continues forward in what I expect to be a challenging decade ahead (the toughest since World War II) and it is through the power of ideas and words I hope to see America persevere and become a true member of the world community instead of the collective enforcer for the planet.

steemit105.jpg

steemit52.png

Thank you for reading my post today. My blog is not intended to bring anyone into despair about world events; they are intended to inform and break through the current paradigm we all find ourselves in, and know isn't right. Please let me know your thoughts as I am eager to meet folks outside of my small community and to share thoughts and ideas with. I sincerely believe we are in a moment of significant change and pledge to do all I can to make that change as positive as possible.

Sort:  

good post. I'm all steemed out to upvote you, but followed..

All good and no worries. The connection is what I am here for; anything else is just icing on the cake. Followed you back and already digging your content (although we may disagree at times haha). Big thanks and have a great day.

every time I 'over vote'...I use this..

br1.jpg

if you don't disagree, I'd be offended!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69406.62
ETH 3942.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61