You Can Hate A Part Of Your Country's Past Without Hating Your Country

in #politics5 years ago

Before and during WWII the country I live in started horrible wars, openly oppressed other peoples, didn't allow much of the population to shape public policy, and the rich owners of society tried to make the working class hate each other while running out the door with all the money. I can still like what my country has become today, or rather the good parts of that.

Berlin End War 2.jpeg

And before you complain about how it's "unpatriotic" of me to say this, let me tell you that this country is Germany. I think it's pointless to defend a country's clearly flawed past for "patriotism's" sake, when we could also learn from it to not repeat past mistakes. What's more, you can also hate something that your country is doing today and still love your country, specifically because you want to make it better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62678.63
ETH 3015.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49